Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Staff was very friendly and helpful. All the food at the restaurant was amazing and you can’t beat the view! If you stay definitely do the sanctuary tour next door
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

AMAZING!!

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Staff and the view
Cons: the entire facility is vegetarian, maybe add a few options for non veggie. :)
Location: easy access to the beaches and restaurants, overall an amazing experience.
Went for my 10th year wedding anniversary, Stayed from Feb 20th-Feb 24th in Villa 5, Amazing View! amazing staff! Anna, Franco, Maria, Aaron, Jordi were incredible and made us feel welcomed. I loved every minuted of our stay, from being greeted by Anna upon our arrival, to checking out on our last day. i will never forget this trip, i still see their smiling faces and telling me "PURA VIDA". 10 out 10
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2018 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff truly appreciates your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing Retreat

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Altura Villas is simply one of the best places I've ever stayed on vacation. The views from the rooms and pool are unbelievable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for you review. We appreciate your stay wit us and hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view out of this world. Lauren the manage

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Lauren the manager has been amazing. When u arrive the view is spectacular. It’s heaven on earth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Everyone here at Villas Alturas really appreciate having you here as our guest
5 out of 5
by Exum

Posted Dec 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Perfection

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Went here on my honey moon and was blown away by the amazing experience. The staff and facilities here are truly a blessing. The view has no words and is the best around! The chef in site cooks up the best food in town and if that's not enough, breakfast is free and picked from a menu that is made to order. The villas come fully equipment me and my husband went to near by supermarkets and had no issues coming home to prepare meals. We visited other areas while in Costa Rica and nothing beat Villas Alturas! If you are staying in this area this is the place to be!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Lauren Nicole- General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Joann! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are glad you had such a memorable vacation and enjoyed everything we have to offer at Villas Alturas. We look forward to visiting with us again in the future! Pura Vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Paradise in Central Pacific Costa Rica

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The friendly and helpful people. Everyone is always very attentive to make sure you have all you need to enjoy your stay. VA is a safe place to stay.
Cons: Perhaps the only suggestion would be to rotate the menu items at the restaurant. The food was very good though and the included breakfast was great.
Location: Dominical is centrally located. You are a quick 45 minute drive to Manuel Antonio and Quepos to the North and just 10 minutes to the South.
Location, location, location! This piece of paradise is located on a gorgeous rain forest hill right across the Pacific Ocean just off the main highway and only a seven minute drive from Dominical, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Pacific. As you climb up the steep hill (bring a 4X4), you are sourrounded by beautiful trees, plants and local animals. As you get to the top and you enter the registration area your sight will inevitably be drawn to the magnificent view of the Pacific just over the swimming pool. We were in villa #2 which was just beautiful. As you access the villa, a large outside porche with a full set of tables and chairs for six on the one side and four recliner chairs to the left, both under rotating ceiling fans. A hammock invites you to jump in and enjoy the magnificen view of the Pacific right in front of you. Enter the villa and you will find ample spaces all around: the living room with a sofa and cocktail sets and large windows to contemplate the scenery. To the right the large dinning room with sitting for six and behind a large kitchen with all the trimmings . At the back two bedrooms each with a queen bed and their own extra large bathrooms, all sourrounded by deep, green rain forest. But beyond the natural beauty of this place is the people that make you feel at home: everyone was just so friendly, helpful and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Anniversary Celebration

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Our stay could not have been more pleasing. I had requested a flower arrangement, bottle of wine and a fruit tray to be in our room upon arrival. We arrived later in the day than anticipated because of a flat tire on the rental car and hard rain on a majority of the drive to the Villas from San Jose. Once we finally made it to Alturas we were warmly greeted by Maria who showed us to our Villa. The flower arrangement was beautiful and the fruit tray was enjoyed for several days during our stay. Lauren, Maria, Marco and the rest of the staff could not have been more accommodating during the entire stay. We only ate one dinner during the stay and it was very good. Breakfast was a delight every day and you almost didn't want to leave so you wouldn't have to miss the view. My wife and I really relished sitting out on the porch at night listening to the jungle sounds. One night was stormy and the lightening show created out over the ocean was breathtaking. We spent Three wonderful nights at the Villas and then spent the other Three nights in Manuel Antonio. Manuel Antonio was great but the laid back location of the Villas which is situated between Dominical and Uvita can't be beat. So much to do in the area and an easy drive back to Alturas to relax and sip a few cocktails. We would definitely return to stay and would probably end up staying there the entire time as it was such a delight. Thank you staff for making our Anniversary celebration so special and very memorable !
5 out of 5
by Catalina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Beautiful view by the pool. Very stiff hill up to the hotel, better with 4x4 car