Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Ross from New York

Perfect hotel in Dordogne region

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I were on a belated honeymoon and booked this somewhat last minute. We had wanted to stay in Beynac or La Roque Gaegac, but found Domme to be an equally charming little town high up on a hill. The hotel restaurant has the best views in town, and the food and wine selection were excellent. Our room was very simple but clean (2.5 star), and with recently renovated (4 star) bathroom. Note: there are no lifts, so don't come here if you don't like stairs (in fact, avoid the town altogether, as it's quite hilly). Also note that you have to enter the hotel through the restaurant and there is no hotel parking, though there is public parking around there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Lovely hotel. We stayed for a wedding in a nearby village wth our 8 month old daughter. The staff were excellent with us and the baby and catered for all of our needs. The room was spotless and they provided us with a baby cot. If we could have changed one thing it would have been to have a kettle in the room as this would have helped with the baby but they provided us with water as and when we needed so it wasn't a huge problem. Really lovely hotel and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous place

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Lovely hotel. Beautiful views in a beautiful town. Staff were exceptionally helpful and we enjoyed a really top-class dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel in fabulous location with great restaurant

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Cons: Slightly wider range of dishes on menu for guests staying for longer than a night or two
Location: Beautiful bastide town high up a cliff overlooking Dordogne river. Lots of attractive villages, castles and gardens nearby. canoeing, cycling, walking
Stunning views, superb service, comfortable room, high quality restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, TX

Nice hotel with a world class view of the valley.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: View, view, view
Cons: They could accept that everyone is not in love with fois gras and out of proportion prices.
The hotel is located in the city of Domme which is located on a cliff over looking the Dordogne valley. Our room was on the valley side with a perfect view. It was small by American standard, but pretty much normal for European rooms. The service and check in went great and our stay was about as smooth as you can get until the last night. It seems that we offended the staff by not eating at their highly rated restaurant. We stayed 3 nights and ate breakfast there only once and no dinners. The truth is 16 Euros each for breakfast which was a plain omelet, some cold cuts, pastries, coffee and juice seemed high. Less than 100 yards away we got pastries, and coffee for less than 10 Euros. Still we ate there once for the atmosphere. As for dinner it was 35 and 70 Euros each, for a menu very heavenly weighted toward goose liver. 50 yards away we got a great salad, salmon, and creme brulee for less than 20 each. Had they not clearly gotten offended by our eating choices, I'd say this was a great stay. Still if you can get past the "feelings" issue this is a wonderful place to stay if scenery is important. I can't imagine a better view from a hotel.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u.k.

Typically French hotel, very charming.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Very quiet and peaceful.
Cons: See above re bathroom.
Location: Perfectly positioned overlooking Dordogne river with beautiful surrounding countryside and lots of magnificent chateaux.
Stayed here for two nights in March 2015. The hotel was exactly as described on the website with wonderful views across the Dordogne valley. The proprietress made us extremely welcome and we found the whole experience delightful. Restaurant was very pricey but have to say the evening meal was a gourmet delight and the service couldn't be faulted. Only complaint was that there was no shower screen or curtain on the bath in our en suite facility, making it impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom. Would certainly recommend this hotel, and Domme is an enchanting medieval village.
4 out of 5
by Robin from Bedford

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
We were traveling with another couple in the Dordogne and stayed here for two nights. The hotel is lovely with charmingly decorated rooms and a magnificent views of the Dordogne River and valley below. The owner, Sophie, is very nice and worked hard to make our stay comfortabe. Domme, in winter, was very quiet with most places shuttered but still it was an excellent location for touring the area. As it was winter, the hotel and area were quiet. The only downside to this hotel would be that there is no elevator for those not able or willing to navigate stairs with or without luggage. It was not a problem for us. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
by Jim Loomis from Maui, Hawaii

On a scale of 1-10, this Hotel is a 12.

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel set on a cliff overlooking the Dordogne River and Valley. It's a view that you will photograph a hundred times before you leave. The hotel restaurant is terrific - great service, superb cuisine, artistically presented. Hotel is located in the medieval town of Domme, which includes shops and a few restaurants, but is not overly commercialized and crawling with tourists. Allow several days for your visit. Even then, you won't want to leave.
5 out of 5
by jt from california

Great views; old building

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great views of Dordogne valley. Great location in Domme. Excellent restaurant with the views of the valley. The building does not have an elevator which may be a problem for some.