Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Helpfulness and friendliness of staff
Cons: The car park is dark and unmade up.
Location: A convenient stop over.
Don't be put off by the carpark. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maltby Rotherham

Was unable to get a morning shower

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Nice and quiet comfortable bed but couldn't shower for work as I couldn't get the temperature right and ended up giving in and having a strip was but not too bothered as the over all experience was good at the hotel nice staff and clean and warm thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Closest to Racecourse

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Close proximity to Racecourse
Location: Racecourse on doorstep, quite close to town
Lovely big room, very comfortable, overlooking car park so no road noise, had to have the window open as hotel was extremely warm even with radiator turned off.
4 out of 5
by Pamela

Race day

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms a bit dated but clean. Food in restaurant excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough North Yorkshire

Lovely hotel,really convenient

Posted Oct 12, 2017
We came to Start Leger to stay for a concert at the dome. It was a short taxi ride from the station and a 5 minute walk to the dome. Lovely food and friendly staff,really easy to navigate round as I don't know the area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

The last wedding

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I stayed twice over the last weekend, the first time being with my mum, I noticed there were cobwebs above the bed and cracks in the ceiling, the cobwebs were removed thankfully, I am aware that the cracks in the ceiling aren’t a straight fix but thought you would like to be aware. The second night I stayed was better, after the wedding I went into the room that i stayed in and was greatful to find no cobwebs in sight. However I noticed that the walls of the shower were starting to darken between the tiles and the shampoo and body wash were a little dusty. However the wedding was fantastic, as far as I am aware all of the guests enjoyed their afternoon and evening, the Bride and Groom especially. The food was incredible, the vegetarian and gluten free options were stunning, both guests were amazed at what they had been served. I would happily come back for a meal as all the staff were polite and helpful, I would stay again in hopes that improvements had been made as I know all the staff are willing to make everyone feel welcomed and hope that all guests enjoy their stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hotel near to Racecourse.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Liked the decor on the ground where the reception,restaurant and bar were.
Cons: Room was near the road and was a bit noisy. Could do with double glazing windows.
Nice Hotel very near to Doncaster racecourse which we were visiting. My with and i had a very enjoyable at the Hotel's restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Grand it ain't

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Most staff pleasant & helpful. Breakfast good.
Cons: A bigger budget for basic maintenance..
Location: Within walking distance of Doncaster racecourse.
Room was at the back over the kitchen; choice of ventilation or inhaling all meals. Bathroom smelt unpleasant - drains? Carpet was really badly stained. Room was on 2nd floor, no lift. Had I been warned, wouldn't have booked here. TV didn't work. WiFi very poor, buffering half the time before dropping out completely quite often. Pillows (2 very thin ones) so hard woke up with pressure sore ear. Tea & coffee not replenished on second day though milk was. Good job I had my own tea bags. Door lock only worked after several attempts - 7 on one occasion. On inquiring, was told this was probably due to batteries running low. Should this not be checked on preparing a room for occupancy?