Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for town centre shopping

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger bedroom
Location: Shopping, races
Room very small, but adequate facilities. Good location for Frenchgate shopping centre and short taxi ride to race course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very Good Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The cosy room and double bed for a single person makes for a better stay.
Cons: Slightly bigger room if possible but single rooms are usually smaller, the double bed made up for the small lack of space.
Location: Woods tearooms are very close to the hotel and so is Frenchgate shopping centre. I did walk to the cinema which is about 40 minutes out of town.
From check in to check out everything was done perfectly. The room was clean, cosy and full of little extras that made a big difference. The location in the town centre made it easy to access the train station and shops. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
3 out of 5
by Beverley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Doncaster is a friendly place

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally located and close to all amenities. What a really nice hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by William

Faulty Towers

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived Friday 18th Aug 17 for a two night stay at the Mercure Hotel Doncaster, unpacked in our allocated room 101 and found out that the safe was locked. After waiting a while, the engineer came and sorted the safe out. Put on the TV and the TV would not work so the engineer came and after half an hour the TV still would not work, therefore a further engineer came and after another half an hour the TV was working. In the meantime when we used the toilet the flushing mechanism fell to pieces and the Toilet would not work. Therefore we reported this incident to the reception and an engineer came and so called repaired the toilet, until we used it again and the mechanism fell to pieces. We reported the situation to reception when we were going out for the evening. When we arrived back in the room the Toilet mechanism seemed to have been repaired until we used the toilet then if fell to pieces again. On Friday we then started to get ready to go out for the evening and when we tried to use the hairdryer this seemed not to work until after 10 minutes of messing about with the hairdryer we established that the electrical socket was the problem by this time we had given up any hope of having anything fixed in the room. On the way out we reported the toilet situation yet again, and on our return the toilet mechanism seemed to have been repaired until we used the toilet then if fell to pieces again, only this time the water in the toilet was running all the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Central and close to shops etc.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Good hotel. Car park is close to the hotel but due to the one way system you have to drive a long way to reach it. Maybe ten minutes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
First impressions were good. Very helpful at check in. Room and bathroom looked nice and fairly spacious. Closer inspection revealed obvious damp below the windows and not particularly well cleaned. Bed and pillows not to my comfort standards. Breakfast day 1 was OK but day 2 was very busy. Had to ask for virtually everything to be restocked (glasses, bread, tea/coffee etc.). Staff tried hard but there obviously weren't enough of them to cater for when the hotel was full. Good location close to shops/bars/restaurants (despite the frustrations of the Doncaster one way system when driving but you can't blame the hotel for that). Car park was cheap and only 5 minutes walk
3 out of 5
by claire

Doncaster Centre Stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
We were initially put in a twin room 208 which was dark dingey and very hot, with one broken window which could not open we asked to be moved. Moved into a double with air con room 300, smaller but airy, however string drain smell from bath plug hole, not nice and bathroom door did not shut at all. For one eve ok but did report all to reception, no offer of any refund which I would think was warranty given the move and problems. Would stay again as central in Doncaster. Hotel needs a good clean, paint and update maintainence in rooms. Did not book breakfast although offered two for one so we did pay for that at £11.95, good breakfast recommend it. All in all disappointing hotel for a mecure chain.
5 out of 5
by Stuart

great hotel and great food

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent food for breakfast and really excellent evening meal's in the hotel restaurant