Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

The classic Clanree

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Another amazing stay in the clanree. That's our fourth time and as wonderful as ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Antrim

nice hotel with leisure facilities

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: good touring base
Cons: nothing
Location: Spectacular coastal settings within 30 minutes drive
welcoming, comfortable and clean. We used the leisure facilities each day which were very good. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM, USA.

Lovely hotel, lovely staff

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Lovely staff, breakfast was great, really clean. Enjoyed our stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just one night

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Super clean and warm room. Excellent bar / restaurant and the whole hotel was welcoming .. clean and modern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Very cold

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Torn carpet and smells. Not warm enough at night. The water is not clear, has a straw colour like dirt or something. No smile from the reception ladies it's like entering a military camp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

avoid room 271!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Location is great, slightly out of centre but not far to shops, bars etc.
Hotel very clean and well presented but avoid room 271. It site at the end of a corridor and must be beside air con or heating system. It sounds like your trying to sleep in an aircraft - just awful. Needed to get out of the room to escape the noise. I didn't ask to move as there was a wedding on so it seemed unlikely that they would have had availability. Perhaps that's why I Expedia gave me a preferential rate for the room, which wasn't cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clanree Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms
Cons: The reception staff (4 of them) did not acknowledge me. Road noise not acceptable.
Location: On a busy main road with service stations nearby.
Avoid the rooms facing the road, they are far too noisy. Was confronted by 4 reception staff who were busy pushing paper around and some answering calls and left me standing there for a good few minutes before being seen to. On the positive side the rooms are clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Like The Plaza of Donegal

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Very luxurious, great breakfast, and excellent pool and sauna.
Cons: We were pretty happy with everything about the room and the hotel in general.
Location: It's close to downtown Letterkenny and not too far from the Northern Ireland border.
When my wife an I arrived in Donegal at the Clanree Hotel, we were impressed right away when we entered the luxurious lobby. The elegant decor continued to the hallways and into our room. Very nice. We spent the evening in the pool area swimming and enjoying the sauna, which was decent, but not quite like the real thing (my wife is Finnish). We even met a few people there who were happy to tell us about some nearby place to go stargazing and hiking. We went to bed after that and only stayed the one night, but we had a great experience. The breakfast before check-out was wonderful and filled us up well for our journey over the border into Northern Ireland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Near clean hitel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Passing through town was a great hotel with two restaurants to choose from
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Engalnd

Helpful staff

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff
For medical reasons I am currently on a very low fat diet. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful (which included offering a suitable dish which was not on the menu).