Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

avoid room 271!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Location is great, slightly out of centre but not far to shops, bars etc.
Hotel very clean and well presented but avoid room 271. It site at the end of a corridor and must be beside air con or heating system. It sounds like your trying to sleep in an aircraft - just awful. Needed to get out of the room to escape the noise. I didn't ask to move as there was a wedding on so it seemed unlikely that they would have had availability. Perhaps that's why I Expedia gave me a preferential rate for the room, which wasn't cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clanree Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms
Cons: The reception staff (4 of them) did not acknowledge me. Road noise not acceptable.
Location: On a busy main road with service stations nearby.
Avoid the rooms facing the road, they are far too noisy. Was confronted by 4 reception staff who were busy pushing paper around and some answering calls and left me standing there for a good few minutes before being seen to. On the positive side the rooms are clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Like The Plaza of Donegal

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Very luxurious, great breakfast, and excellent pool and sauna.
Cons: We were pretty happy with everything about the room and the hotel in general.
Location: It's close to downtown Letterkenny and not too far from the Northern Ireland border.
When my wife an I arrived in Donegal at the Clanree Hotel, we were impressed right away when we entered the luxurious lobby. The elegant decor continued to the hallways and into our room. Very nice. We spent the evening in the pool area swimming and enjoying the sauna, which was decent, but not quite like the real thing (my wife is Finnish). We even met a few people there who were happy to tell us about some nearby place to go stargazing and hiking. We went to bed after that and only stayed the one night, but we had a great experience. The breakfast before check-out was wonderful and filled us up well for our journey over the border into Northern Ireland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Near clean hitel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Passing through town was a great hotel with two restaurants to choose from
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Engalnd

Helpful staff

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff
For medical reasons I am currently on a very low fat diet. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful (which included offering a suitable dish which was not on the menu).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The Clanree is a great hotel located in Letterkenny, Ireland. We spent a week there recently as our daughter had her wedding reception in the hotel. The staff were marvellous, accommodating and helpful and we enjoyed a beautiful wedding. Our only negatives were: 1. Our room was hot as we were in the area over the pool and we found it to be overly warm in that area and, 2. The pillows were very firm and for us uncomfortable. We did request new pillows which were an improvement but still firmer than we enjoy. That being said, don't hesitate to stay here. If is definitely a great hotel and McGettigans bar is a lovely place with great good and some great nightly entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alban

Great wee stop off point on our journey back home.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Big room, nice bar and food. Swimming pool was great, but, don't forget your swimming cap!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, UK

On a main road out of town but not too noisy.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: good leisure facilities, pub next door!
On a main road and out of town but not too noisy considering the location. Food was good plus there is a reasonably priced menu of good food at the pub next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel slightly out of town but that didn't matter to us made up for by the great bar and fabulous staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north of Boston, ma

Conveniently on main road.

Posted May 30, 2016
We found this hotel to be busy with functions, strongly reeking of smoke throughout lobby and ground floor. Filtering in from smoking right outside main door. Though conveniently located on main road it lacked the wonderful views of the countryside.