Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cortland, NY

Elegant romantic castle

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: I love how this hotel finds the perfect balance of modern and classic. It is a gorgeous castle but yet very clean and modern inside.
The room was spacious and classy. The hotel was elegant and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Staff were attentive and accommodating. Food was delicious and spa was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Seán Carney, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Lough Eske Castle recently. Your kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much - especially with regard to your room, your dining experience, the level of professional and personal service you received and your spa experience. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle sometime very soon. Best regards, Seán Carney General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The staff was excellent, friendly and eager to help. Variety of excellent food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solo trip

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing weekend away. Very friendly and warm staff. Every helpful. I had a brilliant stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent room and food

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were made to feel very welcome. The staff were excellent,very professional and so helpful. Our dinner in the evening was delicious. The surrounding countryside is a delight. We thoroughly enjoyed our all too brief stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly , helpful staff. Breakfast was amazing!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely day/night at Castle Lich Eske!! The room was lovely the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the restaurant was top drawer!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Cozy and luxurious, except for the outdoor hallway

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Sitting room with fire going. Room with heated floors, luxurious bath, and french press coffee in room!
Cons: The hallway had a smelly carpet, and the "outdoor" hallway would have been enchanting in good weather, but it was slippery and unpleasant in rain.
Location: A bit of a drive to Donegal town.
Beautiful estate, from the moment you drive up to it. All of the people who work there were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The Castle and Accommodations were splendid with one exception. You have to go outside and down some steps to get to your room if you are on the courtyard, and this is not a pleasant experience in the pouring rain! The dinner was lovely, and it was a great thing to repair to the comfy sitting room afterwards and have a drink in front of a wood fire, chatting with other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Night as Cinderella

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The attentiveness to detail. I am a detail person, and these folks had thought of everything.
Cons: The mattress on our bed could have been a slight bit comfortable, but it is hardly worth mentioning.
Location: NA. We strictly stayed at the hotel.
It was totally fabulous! The staff, the room, the food, the entertainment, the Irish Coffee, everything was wonderful. We really did not want to leave the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful Castle Retreat

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The castle is beautiful and majestic without being gaudy. The service is top notch, the food is superb and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Cons: The weather??
Location: The hotel is out of walking distance to Donegal but it is just a short drive through a beautiful forest.
Lough Eske is a beautifully restored castle on well manicured grounds. The staff is extremely attentive and cordial. We did not stay long enough to enjoy all of the amenities; however, we were made to feel at home throughout our stay. A member of the staff stopped what he was doing and tended the fire when he noticed that we were enjoying it in one of the finely furnished sitting rooms. He then offered to tale a cocktail order from us before he departed. When he returned he also provided us with a book containing the history and restoration of the castle. Every other member of the staff appeared to be equally as engaging without being intrusive. Additionally, the food was the best throughout our two week visit to Ireland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels