Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My Night as Cinderella

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The attentiveness to detail. I am a detail person, and these folks had thought of everything.
Cons: The mattress on our bed could have been a slight bit comfortable, but it is hardly worth mentioning.
Location: NA. We strictly stayed at the hotel.
It was totally fabulous! The staff, the room, the food, the entertainment, the Irish Coffee, everything was wonderful. We really did not want to leave the next day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful Castle Retreat

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The castle is beautiful and majestic without being gaudy. The service is top notch, the food is superb and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Cons: The weather??
Location: The hotel is out of walking distance to Donegal but it is just a short drive through a beautiful forest.
Lough Eske is a beautifully restored castle on well manicured grounds. The staff is extremely attentive and cordial. We did not stay long enough to enjoy all of the amenities; however, we were made to feel at home throughout our stay. A member of the staff stopped what he was doing and tended the fire when he noticed that we were enjoying it in one of the finely furnished sitting rooms. He then offered to tale a cocktail order from us before he departed. When he returned he also provided us with a book containing the history and restoration of the castle. Every other member of the staff appeared to be equally as engaging without being intrusive. Additionally, the food was the best throughout our two week visit to Ireland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Love this hotel only wish we had more time to spend and explore the grounds. Beautiful!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derry

Classy Hotel in an idyllic location.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
It was our second stay at Lough Eske; some of the staff recognised us from our previous trip. The Garden Suites were spacious, clean and luxurious. The In Room, Bar and Restaurant Dining experience were superb. All staff went above and beyond. I could praise endlessly and still not be able to convey how great the entire "product" is...Donegal is also a beautiful County.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Dissappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff were exemplary and the drive and entrance to the castle are very impressive .
Cons: Wifi . Plumbing. Better Value for money .
Location: This little corner of Donegal is stunning and spectacular .
This should've been a 5 star experience but sadly it wasn't . We had several problems in our room with the plumbing . They were sorted out and we were given a small box of chocolates for the inconvenience , but it's not what one expects given the prices charged ( a reduction or free breakfasts would've been a more appropriate gesture). The wifi was also poor and intermittent .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Franciso

Gorgeous Estate Close to Donegal

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Quintessential country castle/hotel/spa with all the amenities. Beautiful grounds peppered with statuary, bikes at the ready for a tour around the lough. Comfortable and generous rooms, delicious dining options and music in the bar after dinner. A delightful oasis - I wish we had stayed there longer, next time we will!
5 out of 5
by Al from Chicago USA

Our castle stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
This is a self-contained resort, and better suited for adults instead of families. The main section of the hotel is is visually impressive, inside and out. The included breakfast was one of the best we've had. The main restaurant was elegant; the spa indulgent. Service was universally excellent. The room was large and comfortable (with snacks, ironing board & iron, but no room safe which surprised even the staff) and the bathroom huge. Be aware that very few rooms are actually in the castle section; many others have outside access only. Umbrellas are provided. There is no easy access or view of Lough Eske however. As County Donegal is relatively rural, many sights are a considerable drive.
5 out of 5
by Dennis from Western MA, USA

Vacation get-away

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice facility. Friendly staff. Quick cab ride to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save Your Money and Stay at a Ramada or Radisson

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel does look like a castle from the outside, and the waterfall shower was nice.
Cons: Lower the price.. too expensive for what you get.
Location: This hotel is isolated. You need a car to get around, but we did enjoy the nearby town of Donegal.
We had a long day of driving, and upon our arrival we were informed that we had to wait for the concierge to take us to our room. We sat and stood by the front desk for over 30 minutes, to be lead to a building not attached to the hotel. This was the 'highest' priced castle on our Ireland castle tour and the most disappointing. You are paying for a nice lobby, and grounds and getting a standard hotel room. Once you close the blinds, lighting consisted of 2 little lamps and a pot light over the closet. But the worst part was no sleep. The room was hot (no AC) and the bed had no top sheet and a duvet that puffed out feathers every 5 minutes. When we were asked at check out we enjoyed our stay, we were honest about not getting any sleep. The response was a PERKY "Sorry".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Heated floors and the fireplace made my stay over the top. Lovely well kept gardens. Great spa which included fitness, indoor swimming pool, workout room, massage and facials. Highly recommend.