Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Early check-in was very pleasing after overnight train; staff were very helpful; reasonable price and big room; not far from historical center.
Cons: Internet was slow; air conditioner struggled to deal with the heat.
Location: Located in a quiet neighborhood with traditional courtyard houses (hutong); about 15 minutes from several metro stops; Houhai lake area is close.
Stayed here overnight in June. Enjoyed wondering around the alleys past traditional Beijing courthouses (many have probably not changed much in the last century, and stubbornly resist the influence of globalization). It was a short walk to the metro to see the Forbidden City. Given my budget, it was unexpected to stay in a hotel with a courtyard, traditional architecture, and such friendly staff. The room was large and relatively comfortable, with some antique furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Charm, location, & price
Cons: Plumbing is a bit dodgy however given the location it is to be expected. Everything was in working order just slow.
Location: Right in the Hutong district of Beijing. This area is still untouched by developers so a lot of traditional buildings & charm are evident.
Loved it! Located in the heart of the Hutong district this quaint hotel has loads of old school charm. Staff are friendly & helpful. The courtyard area is very special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Very convenient location, clean enough for stay, staff very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Most of server is really nice and helpful. just the place is not as comfort as I expect. Also the Hu-tong is not easy to get the taxi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, cool location

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very cool-looking from the outside, as it is a traditional Beijing hutong. But the rooms could use with some sprucing up. Everything was clean and functional, but the room decor was a bit dingy looking. Also, there is very little storage space for luggage or hanging up clothes, so if you're visiting for an extended stay that may become a problem. The room itself is comfortable, but you could probably do a bit better for the price. The location is great because it's right in the hutongs and you can easily walk to many bars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room, perfect neighborhood

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I had a great stay at this hotel. They gave us an upgrade when we checked in. The courtyard is beautiful, in a hutong. The hutong was full of life. Many bars, restaurants, and stores. Also very near the more touristy Gulou area so there are a lot of food/drink/shipping options. Also very near the bell and drum towers. The room was very affordable for the neighborhood and the room was very clean. It was a nice size although the double beds are a bit small for 2 people to share but manageable. We'd definitely stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent facility in hutong area

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The homliness and friendliness.
Cons: All good.
Location: Short [15 mins max] walk to good subway, easy access to Tienanmen area or airport or summer palace. Friendliness of local people in hutong area great
We thoroughly enjoyed our time living in the hutong for 5 days. Staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast available, washing done quickly and cheaply, room very comfortable. A memorable experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply to far from transport

Posted May 25, 2016
To get there is horrid - many taxis simply won't go there. To find it initially on your own would be almost impossible . Whilst cheaper than the the more central hotels you can spend the balance on taxis and train fairs unless you are prepared to walk about 3 km each way each day to the train
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels