Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and great staff

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Staff was excellent, english speaking, provided breakfast was a surprisingly rich. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Beautiful traditional room with amazing staff

Posted Feb 1, 2018
The staff at Double Happiness go above and beyond in everything that they do. We arrived at the hotel at 6:30am and they gave us breakfast even though it wasn’t included and a room upgrade. We got into our room by 9:30am. Everyone at the front desk were super friendly and their English was fantastic! The cleaners were way too kind and folded our clothes even though we tried to neatly put them away on our suitcases. Bed, pillows and blanket were comfy and room was always nice and warm as it was behind freezing outside. Was very easy to get around and plenty of food places up the street. Taxi’s don’t like going down the street because it’s so narrow but the walk from the main street to the hotel isn’t that far. We had to leave for the airport at 3:15am and the staff packed breakfast for us. Best part of our trip was actually the accommodation and staff there. Cannot recommend them more highly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK

Great Location, Lovely Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: location, tea in the room, free breakfast, good customer service
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is very convenient - close to many restaurants, stores, and a subway station. The staff were excellent and proficient in both Mandarin and English. I speak Chinese but my wife doesn't so it made her feel more welcome that they spoke English as well. The room was charming and unique, with a wonderful tea set and delicious tea in the room. The free breakfast was expansive and offered many dishes. When we were checking out, the staff presented us with a gift of Chinese tea to take with us - such a nice and unexpected gesture. We would definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic little Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, charming and individual rooms
Location: Subway station is 10 min walk from the Hotel, nearby restaurant recommended by Hotel staff is excellent, great value and popular with locals.
Double Happiness Hotel feels like a family run place, very friendly and efficient. Hotel is full of charming details and fits nicely in a historical surrounding, a small alley where local life seems to go on, unperturbed by the tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Lorraine, Canada

experience of hutong residence

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: genuine experience + great breakfast
Cons: heat
Location: location great - -not to far from subway that brings you everywhere
want to experience how is life in hutong residence with clean and affordable ways? go Beijing Double Happiness Hotel
4 out of 5
by Mark

Historic Place for the adventurous

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in a building that used to house Imperial midwives in the 19th century. It is not a modern luxury hotel. If your idea of adventure travel is a 3-star hotel in a 1st world country, this is not the place for you. The staff was wonderful, helpful, and generous. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The courtyard was interesting - but they could stand cleaning by tossing out the piles of old magazines. The only drawback was the alleyway leading up to the hotel. This is located in the 4th alleyway of the Dongsi hutong. That is a classic, working-class, historic district that comes with the sights, sounds, and smells of a real city in a developing world. You don't need to worry for your safety, but it does look intimidating the first time. Breakfast was the best I'd had in China. Dinner & the bar were quite good too. The Beijing subway is a 10 minute walk in either direction. 5 minutes past that brings you to great shopping/dining. And the staff really was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Good location near Dongsi station

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Staff. Breakfast
Location: See above
Really helpful staff. The hotel is down a hutong which seems to be on the way up judging by the building works. If you go back to Dongsi Nanjadie (the main street) and turn right, there is a good hot pot restaurant about 70 metres up the road and a decent Chinese a bit further on. The breakfasts are excellent but the night-time bar food not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, Australia

Small, friendly hotel set in old part of Beijing

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Cosy, traditional style of room with a lot of attention to decoration. Lovely staff.
Location: Located within walking distance of main attraction, or catch local transport. The surrounding hutong is a living breathing area.
We decided to stay in a hutong hotel rather than a traditional western style hotel. So glad we did. It was a totally different experience and the staff were so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Arabella

Feel the real China.

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel gave us the real "feel" of being in China with it's very charming courtyard setting. The service is very fast and courteous and the staff go out of their way to cter to our needs. The desk personnel speak very good English and made it easy for us to organize tours and exchange currency.This hotel lends authenticity to our vacation .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

a hidden gem

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: the character ,furnishings and layout of the hotel and it is safe and the locals friendly
Cons: Please dont tamper with a haven.
Location: close to underground and local shops for food clothes etc and a local supermarket nearby.
thank you Louise and staff you made us welcome from the start, the hotel is situated down a Hutong and a hidden gem, the rooms and beds in old Chinese style with a mix of old and new furnishings, the overall style of the hotel is old Chinese and works well for those requiring a change from the modern . The breakfast is excellent and the day we left early on a trip the packed breakfast was also good ,one night we had dinner also very good and a good price. Wifi is good and we were touch by the leaving present. upon leaving there was a slight snag with a taxi the staff rose up to the challenge and solve the problem with no fuss, once again thank you to the staff always smiling and helping with the usual tourist questions.