Ratings based on 573 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, Australia

Small, friendly hotel set in old part of Beijing

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Cosy, traditional style of room with a lot of attention to decoration. Lovely staff.
Location: Located within walking distance of main attraction, or catch local transport. The surrounding hutong is a living breathing area.
We decided to stay in a hutong hotel rather than a traditional western style hotel. So glad we did. It was a totally different experience and the staff were so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

a hidden gem

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: the character ,furnishings and layout of the hotel and it is safe and the locals friendly
Cons: Please dont tamper with a haven.
Location: close to underground and local shops for food clothes etc and a local supermarket nearby.
thank you Louise and staff you made us welcome from the start, the hotel is situated down a Hutong and a hidden gem, the rooms and beds in old Chinese style with a mix of old and new furnishings, the overall style of the hotel is old Chinese and works well for those requiring a change from the modern . The breakfast is excellent and the day we left early on a trip the packed breakfast was also good ,one night we had dinner also very good and a good price. Wifi is good and we were touch by the leaving present. upon leaving there was a slight snag with a taxi the staff rose up to the challenge and solve the problem with no fuss, once again thank you to the staff always smiling and helping with the usual tourist questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beijing Double Happiness!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Vintage Chinese furniture, embroidered wall hangings and coverlets. Excellent staff willing to help find solutions for an elderly parent.
Cons: Better shower drainage. Otherwise nice and clean. Not handicap friendly. Use a cane or walker.
Location: Research when and where the tours are available. We hired a private taxi driver and a tour guide for three of us because we couldn't make the Sat. AM.
The hotel is a great opportunity to experience a traditional old courtyard home. Staff was superb, especially receptionist/official tour guide Vivian and porter/bus boy/bicycle cab driver Alan. Our trip was four years ago, but they were outstanding and are a fond memory. The shower drain was very slow, it was quite cold in December, and beware the chain-smokers in the hotel bar. But, all in all a great trip down memory lane for my elderly mother and we enjoyed a snapshot of her early life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great Experience

Posted May 12, 2017
A magical and spectacular hotel! If you want to experience Beijing for all its charm, this hotel is a must stay. It is one of the few hotels that have preserved the feel of traditional China for a tourist to enjoy. The staff is also exceptional and make you feel very special. Indie, the hotel manager, was very attentive and helped us book all our taxis, shows, and tours. Indie, upon arrival, also managed to return our money from a scam taxi driver who tried to overcharge us for our fare! Where else would you find this kind of hospitality and service? Not many places. Shelly, another hotel staff agent, was also remarkable and very funny! Don't miss the lovely hotel courtyard as it was one of our favorite places to relax and drink local Chinese tea (which they provide in each room). Don't even think about it worldly people, this place is a hidden gem and an experience you will always remember!
5 out of 5
by Ben

Pure magic

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
If you are planning a stay in Beijing, make sure you stay here. With over 200 years of history, the rooms boast all the modern amenities you expect from a high end hotel. The staff were all wonderful - with the receptionists speaking impeccable English - and the breakfast offered a wide selection for both Chinese and Western palates. Beijing is a memorable city to visit, but a stay at this hotel will make it more memorable with its atmospheric setting and warm hospitality full of little touches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

My home away from home!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Double Happiness is very quaint, in the old style of the Chinese character. Very different from the western hotel. Quiet, the rooms are not big.
Cons: The beds could be a bit 'softer'
Location: The hotel location is in a Hutong, an old district of Beijing in what is an very narrow lane or alley. Close to central Beijing.
As the other areas of this "Rate this Hotel" is very limited I must explain more here. I have stayed at this hotel three times, this time in April '17, I stayed 8 days as I was just touring Beijing. The Double Happiness is a quaint hotel near the center of the City of Beijing. It is located in a Hutong, what was at one time a small neighborhood, or now, an old district of Beijing. Hutongs are made up of houses, businesses, in small lanes or alleys. More and more of the Hutongs are being demolished to make way for modern high rises and such. The Hotel is over 200 years old. It is quaint, in the old fashioned Chinese character. It is quiet. Breakfast, West and Chinese. It has modern conveniences, but if you are expecting a high scale hotel then this is not for you. The lane way is narrow and taxis do not like to go down them, be forewarned. There is a police station next door and a retirement center on the other side. I never heard a siren all any time I have been there. It is very safe, I travel mostly alone and as a women, feel more safe here than in my home town in Canada. Just the way it is! The subway is located nearby, it is a cheap way to get around Beijing. Tienanmen Square, is not far, perhaps a 20 - 30 minute walk. I think the big reason I like this hotel is the fact that ALL THE FRONT STAFF SPEAK VERY GOOD ENGLISH! To me that is invaluable, my Mandarin poor. The hotel will also arrange tours for you at a reasonable cost. Great Wall, Shows, etc. Enjoy the Experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bunbury, West Australia

This is such a beautiful place to stay

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Its walking distance to everything you could want, it is authentic Chinese style, in the old part of town, it is truly a beautiful place to stay
Cons: Maybe the breakfast room could be a little bigger and the food selection expanded a little, but it was great value for money as it was
Location: Everything within walking distance, pubs, restaurants, dancing and sight seeing, its in a fantastic location.
After experiencing a really bad hotel in Beijing we moved to this one and omg what a difference, the staff were lovely, the room was small but so beautiful and authentic Chinese decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Great hotel, but watch out for scooters!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Rooms, staff, location, breakfast - especially the staff.
We totally loved the hotel, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it for families with small children or anyone with limited mobility, because of the hotel's location. The hotel was extremely charming with a friendly and helpful English speaking staff, cute rooms off a lovely courtyard, and a fantastic free breakfast with both American and Chinese offerings. The location is in an alley off of a main street, which (for us) added to the charm as it seemed to be in the middle of a typical Chinese neighborhood. The neighborhood is cramped and lively, with people playing cards, shops cutting up meat at 10pm, and many many scooters zipping through. This was all great, but we did feel that we had to be pretty alert in walking from the main street up the alley to the hotel, because of the scooters and the occasional van coming down such a narrow road. We felt the alley was totally safe with regards to crime (the hotel is a few houses down from a police station) and our rooms were quiet, but I was glad we only had our 18 year old son with us and not any younger children. We really did love the hotel, though, and will definitely stay there is we ever return to Beijing. The location is about a 15 minute walk from a centrally located Metro station (Dongsi). Also, I don't remember staying at a hotel where the staff was so warm and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from @ Los Angeles

good choice @ Beijing

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Good location... subway access if you don't mind 10 minutes walk.. very friendly front desk staffs .. breakfast is O.K... clean room with traditional Chinese deco ... definitely worth a try if you want authentic Beijing Hutong life style experience!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful small and central

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I loved my little room. It's small by western standards, but so quaint! It's on a tiny street, great location for me! Loved hanging out in the courtyard there. The room had working AC, was very comfortable and clean. I fell in love with the ancient style as well. It really is a special place! I hope to return some day!