Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly Surprising

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Air-conditioning and friendly staff and location
Cons: cleanliness
Location: So much shopping, cat cafe, memorial/museum, close to Jingshan Park and the Forbidden City
It was cheap, it had a bed, bathroom and privacy. I was surprised it even had air-conditioning which was a huge bonus. The staff were friendly and helpful which was amazing since I don't speak mandarin. The location was also amazing, with a subway station less than five minutes away, and dozens of cool little shops, restaurants, cafes and street food in the same hutong, a minute down the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Has essentials, GREAT location and price!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Pros: Location Price Safe
Cons: Staff communications would benefit from printed materials that offer translated versions of common questions and answers about the location & policies
Location: Drum and Bell Towers are easily within walking range through the hutongs. Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven are also super easy to get via subway.
The hotel was absolutely adequate for my needs (as a solo, backpack traveler). Being directly in the hutongs made exploring easy and awesome. The subway entrance (about a 5 minute walk from the hotel) puts you within easy and inexpensive transportation to most every major attraction and area of Beijing. Taxis cannot pick up/drop off people to the hotel (because the hutongs are pedestrian only areas), but, being close to the subway, I never needed a taxi - even to/from the airport. This is not a luxury hotel. Having said that, it had good A/C, clean bathroom and shower, clean sheets and towels. Staff were professional, but be prepared to use a translation app or learn Mandarin if you need to communicate there. I felt secure at the hotel, and they offer free amenities like shampoo, soap, combs, toothbrush and tooth paste. Bottled water and instant noodle bowls are available for purchase in the lobby, and they have a restaurant (which most operates in the evenings). I would not recommend this lodging for families with small children or people with physical disabilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

close to attractions and restaurants

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better locks on the door.
Location: Centrally located in a historic neighborhood. Taxis, buses, subway, and bikes are easy accessible within minutes of walking.
Everything you need is close to the hotel. There is a heavy presence of security in each street. There is an abundance of food to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location & Excellent value

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Very conveniently located and not too hard to find. I got the cheapest, windowless room and this hotel exceeded my expectations for what I paid. Room was quiet & well equipped, mattress was a bit hard, wifi was a bit slow, my private bathroom was enclosed in blurred glass walls with the shower combined in the same space as toilet/sink. 1/2 block distance from all the action at Luogu walking street. Unbeatable value. Definitely will be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare in Beijing

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Have reception know So English words or have the translator app in their phone
Location: Bad location
The hotel is not accessible by car.The road towards the hotel is blocked off.It is amongst the Communist villagers and Manned by heavy Army controlled road blocks.If you have luggage it is virtually impossible to get through as taxi,s are not permitted to drive to the hotel or even Pick up passengers.You must walk half a mile to be able to get public transport.Plus the staff don,t speak one word of English
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will not book this hotel again

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The best part was that it was near the Drum Tower and the River and easy walking distance of a metro station. The staff were friendly, but of limited help as nobody could soeak or understand English. The hotel is located within the historic hutong precinct, but cars are banned from that area so your taxi from the airport will not be able to deliver you to this hotel. And if you book a tour, you will have to walk a considerable distance to somewhere where you can meet your tour coach. The room was quite dirty, and the daily servicing was quite inadequate. The matress should have been thrown away years ago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room but great location and price

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
If cleanliness is important for you, don't even think of staying here. But if you just need a roof over your head in a bustling area full of cafes boutique shops and restaurants, this is great value
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location of the hotel is excellent. I could walk throughout the hutongs and there are many small vendors to satisfy any taste.
Cons: Guests can only reach the hotel by walking as taxis are restricted.
The staff was very friendly and helpful although a couple of them have limited English. The manager was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by anonymous from Minnesota

Cheap hotel

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are somewhat clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, close to train station.

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was clean and close to the train station by taxi,the staff were very patient while I communicated with them using my pocket Mandarin book, they even drew me a map to where I was headed.