Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2017
The facility and staff were great. Hotel is in a central location, walking distance from Tianamen Square. There’s also a shopping mall almost adjacent to the hotel. Staff were all nice and accommodating. They helped with early check in and tour. I would stay here again if I were to come back to Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the city center

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Beautiful hotel in the center of Beijing. Comfortable room, very helpful staff, great breakfast. I can recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel in centre of city

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, location at the centre of the city.
Cons: Hotel facilityes can be improved.
We stayed the night we arrived Bejing from New York. We like spacious room of the hotel. The big room doors differs from other hotels. The decoration reminds you are in China. The bed is comforable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

close to all attractions

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: location and great staffs
Cons: heating
Location: Palace and the Square, and shopping right behind the hotels
wonderful staffs, the only little discomfort the heating is so high and dry and it causes discomfort, if they can reduce the heat in room that will be perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Happy we chose this hotel!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The room, the concierge service, the breakfasts, the location.
Cons: The beds are hard by Canadian standards.
Location: The street market that sells bugs on a stick, Tiananmen Squire, the Forbidden City, the subway system, good Peking Duck.
2 things - the beds are hard & you're charged a daily room cleaning fee. Those are the not so good comments we have. The hotel is centrally located with short walks to major attractions & a few steps to the efficient, clean & very affordable Beijing subway system. It is next to other equally well appointed hotels hosting officials.... It has a distinctly old British interior lobby. The hotel in general is modern, well appointed & clean. The room is large, clean, well stocked & has nice flow with the sitting room area & separated sleeping (bed) area. 2 good double beds with lots of closet space was more than enough for my daughter & I. The bathroom was bright, clean & had all the necessities waiting for us. We ate daily at the buffet which was a both Western and Asian. LOTS of soup, fresh fruit & to made to order breakfast options were available. We had dinner there half of the nights & were happy with the plated meals. The staff are friendly & attentive. If one could not answer a question in English they readily found a colleague to assist. The concierge staff were wonderful by recommending activities, subway routes & ordering drivers for the excursions. Their English was very good & they were well versed enough to ask what we were interested in & physically capable of doing - i.e. hiking up the Great Wall (it's on a Mountain!) and walking for long distances (The Forbidden City is HUGE). I & my young teenage daughter would stay here again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

Great staff and location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
This is really a nice hotel with staff that are incredibly well trained and demonstrate a desire to do a great job. Traveling with 8 adults and a baby made it so we had a few special requests, which the staff went out of their way to help with. There were a couple things that weren't executed properly, but it's China and to be expected. Overall, the facility is beautiful and with a little extra care could really be remarkable. A few areas of peeling wallpaper, scuffed sink fixtures, broken luggage racks and other little things take away from the overall grandeur and history of the facility. Additionally, the AC was essentially non-existant, leaving the rooms a bit too warm at night. The lighting/AC controls were on a control box next to the bed that was strange and my family found difficult to understand at first. With that said, this was a great hotel and a great place to stay. We would definitely stay again. The breakfast was excellent and after a long day we ate dinner at the hotel two times and found the food to be good. The location is perfect, as it is right next to a subway stop and just down the block from Forbidden City/Tiananmen Square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very disappointing!

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Great location. Right next to the start of Wangfujing street and a stones throw from Titanium Square/Forbidden City. The breakfast was wonderful!
Location: Wangfujing Street, Titanium Square, Forbidden City
Lots of small things that added up and got annoying. Starting off with the room was always hot! Even setting the temp to 15c, it always felt like 30c. The best the hotel could do is give us a crappy fan that did not do much. The door in the shower did not shut all the way and water would spill out on the floor making us clean it up every time we showered. One of the phones in the room did not work. They had no 3 prong power plugs so I could not plug in my laptop. When asked if they had a converter, they made it seem like we were asking something extravagant and as expected, did not have anything for us. The staff at the front were not very fast to help you. Took a long time to get a cab and they were not very communicative with us about it. Took even longer for them to come collect our luggage when we were going to check out. After waiting 20 min we had to walk down and ask them in person. Only then did they send someone up. We ordered a taxi ourselves because we did not want to be late to the airport. When I checked out, they charged the wrong card even when I told them what card to charge. Then they gave us a hard time when we told them they need to void and charge the right card. Overall the hotel is in a nice location, but its old and not up to par with other 5 star hotels all around it. Even ones that were cheaper. I will never stay there again! Plenty of better hotels in the same area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Gerrit Hotel Manager/ Beijing Hotel NUO, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Many thanks for your recent stay and for sharing your observations with us. I am very sorry about the incidents which added up to a disappointing stay at Beijing Hotel NUO. Kindly please note that we will address those internally. Again my sincere apologies for the shortcomings, which I wish we could have addressed during your stay. With kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond va

Short week end stay

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The hotel is fantastic. Thesuire gad4 rooms living room etc marble baths etc foodon arrival etc. The problem was that the week end was the19 congressif the party and there was zillions of security people police military people machines to check like in airport etc,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A Bit Disappointing

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel is in desparate need of an upgrade. First room smelled like mothballs. We switched to another room that was better, but still was not great. Bed was rock hard and the bathrooms could have been cleaner. On the plus side the hotel is in a good location near Tienamen Square and the Fobidden City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location Great hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Staff were fantastic and the hotel has everything including a great location. Been to Beijing and china many times and this is a great hotel. Highly recommend