Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by william

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible ! Ac not working called desk sent maintenance to turn on Tv ( for real) Went to fron desk suggested opening window in smoggy Beijing ! When indicated that was unacceptable. Asked them to repair . Desk simply said "NO" We checked out same day and went to Fairmont Beijing. Beautiful lobby rooms on exec floor just worn out ! Completely dated Stayed at crown plaza Xi'an and fairmont Beijing . Both really good and less expensive !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond, United States of America

The best hotel in Beijing in the center of town

Posted Nov 21, 2016
This is the hotel famous for being the HQ of the Olympic Games great food located in the. Enter ofChang ave the number 1 (one) street in Beijing and china
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA USA

the best hotel in Beijing considering location,

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
Cons: LIMITED LANGUAGE BARRIER
Location: near everything, the best location in the entire city, 5 min to Tianmen, 10 min to Forbidden City, 5 min to shopping, 5 min to the best dinning.
great hotel, many fantastic restaurants, the best location in Beijing, walk 5 minutes to Tianmen Square and 10 munites to Forbidden City and 5 minutes to the best shopping in Beijing. THE HOTEL IS FAMOUS FOR BEING HEADQUARTERS FOR THE OLYMPIC GAMES. THE ONLY PROBLEM I SEE IS THE LIMITED ENGLISH OF THE STAFF. BUT IF YOU NEED TO TALK TO THEM ALL DAY THEN GO TO HAYATT AND PAY 2-3 TIMES MORE AND FEEL LIKE YOU ARE IN USA. AND IF YOU MISS USA THEN DO NOT GO TO CHINA. STAY HOME AND BE AN IGNORANT UNEDUCATED NARROW MINDED TOURIST.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great Location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Good service and friendly staff. Hotel is a bit run down and needs an upgrade..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Great Location

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and friendly staff. Rooms are a bit tired and mine had a musty smell. Air conditioner and mini bar fridge were noisy. Room was however very spacious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Facility needs remodeled

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: You cannot beat the location.
The general experience is fine. The entire hotel gives a feeling of "old". The TV remote did not work well. The frontdesk staff was not nice but not efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Canada

Beijing's classic old hotel stands up to time.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The sense of history. The staff are friendly and try their best.
Cons: It would be nice if breakfast was included. No menu in restaurant. Very minimal English is spoken at the reception.
Location: More space is needed for improvements.
When I first came to Beijing in 1983 we stayed in a Russian hotel but were brought to this hotel as part of a tour - it was Beijing's only international standard hotel. It is still in very good condition though the style seems more of the 20/30s than 1974 when it was built. It is in a great location for walking to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond VA the best state in the union

The best hotel in Beijing headquarters of the olym

Posted Apr 18, 2016
I stay there all the times l go to Beijing quite often l walk to Tianmen and Forbidden City. Breakfast is outstanding. The people who rate lower are just crying babies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Classy, Traditional

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Really enjoyed it.
Location: Close to wang fu jing and yi he yuan.
The location of this hotel is superb, very close to wang fu jing. Close to a lot of places if you want to shop around. We wanted to experience this once was the most extravagant hotel in chian for so long. It was a pleasant stay I say. Not as bad as many reviews on here. if you are looking for a more modern touch, then this is not the place for you. But we were not looking for that type of stay, we knew what the rooms look like and we knew that it is rather traditional. But that doesn't mean the rooms are not fully equipped, everythings there for you in the room, besides we don't as much as young people need these days, we were very happy about our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels