Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire, USA

Close to Tiananmen Square

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: We chose this hotel because is was about a mile away from the Hotel. Good location safe walking early morning to Tiananmen Square.
Location: Close to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden city roughly a mile. was walking distance
We chose this hotel because is was about a mile away from the Hotel. Good location safe walking early morning to Tiananmen Square. Buffet breakfast at the hotel is good as well with lots of chooses. We were press for time as we had a short layover at Beijing airport and wanted to see in the city. Definitely would of like to enjoyed the property a bit more. Outside they were doing a lot of construction but did not affect the rooms and comfort. i would say the hotel was great and 5 stars would apply. They also ordered us a taxi to the airport but needed to pay cash once there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location ,y pu can walk to forbidden city

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More help with english
Location: Forbidden city and temple of heaven anfd hutong all wakable
Great place to stay as a single older women traveling alone i felt secure and was able to get walk out at night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Very Disappointing Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The concierge was helpful.
Cons: Facilities and room comfort, front desk staff.
Location: Not a convenient location.
This hotel was disappointing to say the least. Its relative proximity to Forbidden City on a map did not make it actually a convenient location to stay, as the hotel was surrounded by apartment buildings and not at all in a touristy area as we had hoped. It was at least a 15min walk to the nearest subway station, with almost no accessible local eateries or grocery stores nearby. The front desk staff were rude during check in, the interiors in general were in need of updates, and the hallways had an unpleasant odor throughout our floor. The room was relatively spacious and clean, but the AC was not working, so it was a balmy 25C and felt stuffy and airless throughout our stay. The windows could not be opened fully, and we only managed to crack it open a few inches to get some air. This was our second stay in Beijing during this trip. Our experience at the first hotel was amazing (central and convenient location, beautiful facilities, helpful staff, etc), but unfortunately that hotel was sold out during the dates for our second stay. We had hoped for a similar experience at the Capital Hotel, but were sorely disappointed. Having the contrast of the two experiences really made us appreciate our first hotel all the more, and we will definitely stay there in future trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from letchworth garden city

comfortable hotel ideally located

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: centrally located , very helpful staff lovely clean hotel rooms spacious
Cons: no quite happy !!
Location: all near subway and major attractions !! ideally located
have stayed there before with friends, this time with my husband , tienemmen square forbidden city 15 min walk , tube stations all near within 15 min walk to get to other major attractions , temple of heaven , summer palace, ideal location and very nice hotel woud stay there again !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Best choice for the cost

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Professional manners
Cons: Bathroom cosmetic condition
At such central location of Beijing, this hotel can be said as the best choice for the price. From the staff's services to the facilities, everything presents an international standard, comparing with many other surrounding hotels with the similar prices. Room is clean and well maintained, although the bathroom appears a little bit old. Towels, toothbrush, toothpaste, glasses, cups, slippers and other toiletries are replaced everyday. Beds are comfortable. Especially worthy to mention is the air conditioning. It's so quiet when many hotels ranging between 3-4 stars across China and U.S. turned down me just because of their noisy room air conditioning. Free room wifi is fast enough. This is also a distinctive value I want to point out as in my experience, poor room wifi quality is quite common in North American hotels. Transportation is extremely convenient. There are sufficient choices of public transportation just outside the hotel. The lobby has free service to online book taxi for the guests. Guests can pay driver cash upon meter at end of trip. You have the privilege to enjoy walking sight seeing around the nearby tourist spots as well as dinning and shopping areas. In overall, I'm pretty satisfied with my choice of selecting this hotel. I believe this is the best choice of hotel when you determine to stay in this location of the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service and location.

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, just a gentle15-20 minute walk to the Forbidden City. The service was excellent and so was the breakfast. The room was enormous, very clean and the bed firm and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

Great location near Tiananmen, Forbidden City

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Finish construction.
Great location near Tiananmen, Forbidden City and so on. Under construction when we stayed there so was a bit noisy in rooms facing the construction. Otherwise, hotel room was clean and everything seemed to work. Didn't try any of the restaurants...
4 out of 5
by Perry

Nice hotel good position.

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Large Hotel, good amenities and 10 minute walk to Tianamen Square a little further to the Temple of Heaven.Some restaurants across the road good food and cheaper than the hotel. Watch out for the Taxi touts at the front of the hotel!
5 out of 5
by thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels