Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

dirty hotel I don't recommend to anybody.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleaning and attention
Location: Close to tanniamen square and Forbidden City
Carpet extremely dirty. Bathroom extremely dirty. Expensive for being 3 star hotel. Air conditions don't work properly.
1 out of 5
by Kenneth

Not. clean, not comfortable, great location.

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Shabby rooms. Period.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Our first experience upon arrival was really bad - somehow the hotel staff could not find our reservation or saw it cancelled, so we were waiting for an hour after our long flight! before they finally gave us a room. After that everything was good, the location is very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for seeing the forbidden city but...

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is run down and in need of complete refurb. The rooms are tired and carpets need ripping out. There is no business centre and the bar is rubbish. They have a big menu but after choosing 3 things and being told they didn't have it we then went to the bar and picked from their limited collection. Don't be tempted to go the the noodle place opposite for a drink. They charged us 30 quid for a cheap bottle of wine and then told us they were closing about ten minutes after serving us. If you just want to be near the forbidden city and don't plan to be in the hotel much then this is a great location but any more than two nights would be the limit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Great location, staff friendly and helpful. Only issue would be the mattress as I have back issues and it was pretty solid. Although saying that stayed in a couple of other places in China and that just seems the norm. Maybe at home they sleep on granite : )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Hatley Qc Canada

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Best part? There was not a best part. The clerk who moved my bags for me was very polite......
Cons: When I reserved the room, I chose the room that said it was not "basement" but had a view. I did not expect a great view but neither did I expect a room with no window at all. That was what the hotel tried to give me. I was not impressed. I hope that Expedia takes note of this misrepresentation. When I complained, as I did right away and with some shock and surprise, the lady at the desk said that the hotel is not new.....not exactly the reason for my being given an inferior room. The room I ended up with was ok but cost more then any other place I have stayed in Beijing. Often breakfast is included so I did not check since I booked from China and had had some difficulties accessing the net. No breakfast included and the cost of the buffet was 68 Yuan. I did not bite. I have stayed at many hotels in Beijing for less money and for way better accommodations and service. The location is convenient if you plan to do a lot of shopping or many visits to the Forbidden City and Beihai Park. I would not even consider staying there again.
Location: This hotel is very close to the Forbidden City/Palace Museum and major shopping areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The hotel is conveniently located and it is relatively cheap. However, the staff is not very friendly and currency exchange was not available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel near to historic places.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The attention and service.
Cons: The rug and wall cleaning.
Location: In fifteenth minutes you're in the Forbidden City, the most impresive building in the city.
Was comfortable, clean and quiet. Just I had a confution about the pictures that you show at internet and real hotel rooms, lobby and restaurant.
4 out of 5
by scott from McHenry, IL USA

Great location, nice hotel.

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Third time I've stayed here, always as a tourist during a business trip. Small, clean, comfortable (enough) room at a fair price. Breakfast is priced a bit high at ~US$10.00, but the food is fresh and plentiful.
3 out of 5
by David from Chicago

Great location, mediocre room

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Th location of the hotel is fantastic, the employees were nice and helpful and the cost offered a good value. The room itself was very basic and the bathroom was in need of a good power washing. I knew that was a possibility going in though so it was about what I expected.