Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel next to Forbidden City

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: I liked the friendly and helpful staff. Large room with wonderful bath. Great location.
Cons: I had some trouble with the internet but this may be due to my VPN service.
Location: Location was perfect for both beginning a tour and then exploring on foot. I enjoyed being in this location because it was prefect for walking.
I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Kapok and would stay here again. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I booked my city tour through the hotel. Location is perfect for seeing the major tourist sights of Beijing. One day I walked from the hotel to the Drum & Bell Towers and back to the hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location to set out and explore the city on foot. I suggest day one doing a tour of Forbidden City, Summer Palace and the next exploring by foot once you have a good idea of the city. Again, the hotel staff was super friendly and helpful with everything I needed which I greatly appreciated. The room very comfortable & clean. I would stay here again and recommend this place to a friend or family member.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Great central location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Reservations.
Location: Great restaurant across the street. Just a couple blocks east of the Forbidden City east gate. Two blocks from the shopping area of Wang Fu Jing.
The location is great being in the center of Beijing with a great restaurant across the street and a small store a few doors up. The staff was friendly and very helpful. My only issue was a small mix up with my reservation which was fixed day two of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Kapok

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Great location and good value. Rooms are nice despite looking rather old and weathered from the outside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel its very close to dorbidden city and subways.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

affordable and reasonably clean

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful and friendly English speaking staff. We stayed in the Fashion Suite with lots of room for a family of 4. Our room was clean. The rest of the hotel was okay. You can really smell the cigarette smoke from the enclosed smoking area leaking into the hotel lobby. Some guests were smoking in the rooms with the windows and doors open so the smell traveled into the hallway. The cleaning staff worked tirelessly to maintain the cleanliness of the hotel with so many people hanging out/ napping in the lobby area. The hotel have free wifi but we could only get a good range in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proximity to landmarks doesn't make it worth it!

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Don't do it! We chose this hotel over others because of the proximity to the landmarks like the forbidden city. When we arrived the staff was nice enough and helped us to our room. The room would have been nice but it didn't seem like cleanliness was a top priority. Then the toilet was clogged and they tried to blame it on us. The maintenance man came in three different times with a plunger, each time muttering something as he walked out, and the front desk finally said it was "fixed". Then the maintenance man just spread the water that had splashed out with a mop and didn't even use any cleaning products. We decided to try and make it work since we had already booked the hotel and moving would be a hassle...mistake. By the next morning the shower didn't work but we had an early morning tour to the Great Wall already planned so we couldn't address it until we got back in the afternoon. When we returned, not only was the shower not working but the toilet had clogged again. When I went downstairs to complain I heard another guest complaining of the exact same problems. We were told that switching rooms wouldn't be an option. The final straw was the fact that the second day, the staff seemed more interested in helping anyone who spoke Chinese prior to having to speak with me in English when I requested help. We only stayed the one night and went through the hassle of switching hotels which was the best thing we could've done. The hotel we switched to was a complete turnaround.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Should be renamed as Hotel NOPARK

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The hotel information listed on expedia website when i booked this reservation indicated complimentary parking on the listed hotel amenities yet when i arrived i was told there was no parking at all at this hotel for guest and my only option was to drive several blocks away and park for 240 rmb ( about $60 day cdn). The free parking near Tianamen was one of the main reasons i chose to stay there for 3 nights but had i known the parking was non-existent i would gone to another hotel with more reasonable parking charge onsite. I showed the reception manager the complimentary parking shown on the Expedia website and she said it was Expedia's mistake but i believe that they provided mis-information to Expedia. My email to Expedia to complain has yet to be answered. The room itself was acceptable although a bit dusty on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Close to center of Beijing and most attractions

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, room.
Cons: Have been in 3 different hotels and 4 rooms in the past 10 days, fixtures/fittings in all 3 need fixing
Location: See title - close to all main central attractions. Anything else is a drive or subway which can take a lot of time
1 hr approx. from PEK. Close to all main attractions - Forbidden City, Tiananmen Sq etc. Room OK. No pool. Breakfast Good and affordable. Allowed to check out at 2pm (usually noon) after asking nicely. Upgraded 1st night as hotel was full
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Fantastic service in a really convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable hotel.

Posted May 30, 2017
Nice, comfortable hotel. Close to the Forbidden City but it's a long walk to any Metro station.