Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Terrible hotel, the worst I ever experienced

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: Nothing, I have to escape and cancel my visit Beijing early.
Cons: The place need new management or close down.
Location: Bad location the hotel located.
The WIFI is often off, computer keeps telling me there is no WIFI. The TV displays are not clear, only few channels to choose. No elevator to use. You have to carry luggages by stairs. The soaps for clean your body are small as finger nails, hard to grab.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Disappointed with hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Well i never booked this hotel to begin with for my holiday, but had to transfer and was told it was an upgrade by expedia and had a view out of the window. But when i arrived there the building looked like it was being redone and in the lobby it was terrible, there were air conditioning systems everywhere and metal beams on the floor, there was alot of rubbish outside of reception and flooring falling apart in the lobby so i was already very disappointed and not happy. The staff didnt speak any english so language barrier was difficult, but once we got to our room there was no view out the window just bricks and rubbish and when using our shower it would flood everytime and when we were given new towels we even had one towel given to us ripped in half. We were very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone and also several times our key card didnt work so had to get staff to let us in our room, not worth booking with this hotel
3 out of 5
by Jing

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
It's good for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

So-so hotel but in a fantastic location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The service and cleanliness of the rooms, especially cleaning to get rid of smoke smell.
I've stayed at the Beijing Hutong Hotel (Zaoyuanju) many times over the past 8 years and it hasn't changed. It's a cheap hotel, with only so-so conditions (small rooms, sometimes smelly, bathroom doors that don't close, etc.), and few amenities except that it's in probably the best place in Beijing if you value being down a hutong that is right next to the metro and a stone's throw from the Drum Tower, with a lot of wonderful restaurants, coffee places, etc. The thing I noticed on my most recent trip, when I came with 5 family members, is that the staff has become increasingly unfriendly and difficult. They must have made a pact lately to try to be unhelpful to guests. They are surly, seem unhappy, and instinctively say NO if you ask them anything. If you speak Chinese, that helps, as it did for us. In the end, we were able to get what we needed most of the time (like changing a room when it smelled like a broken toilet) but if you need a fair amount of help or advice, and/or are picky about good service, this probably isn't your place.
1 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Did not stay pace was out of business, last min. Nighgmare to get another hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Close to subway

Posted Apr 5, 2017
It was great location in old Beijing but the staff didn't help they cause a lot of problems when we had a tour as we booked else where. Bed was rock hard we were in a non smoking room how ever it stunk of smoke . Heating was good hot water was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In nice hutong near attractions. English spoken

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Location: Great location
In nice hutong near many attractions (drum and bell towers and shopping). Receptionist spoke great English which was helpful. Be careful as they charge you for what you use in the room (bottled water for example).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible horrible horrible horrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for tourist, not what's promised.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
It's a great place. Lots of stuff to do within walking distance and close to public transit for further things. Clean room. Staff is somewhat helpful. Downsides. You don't get what's promised and they try n charge you more. When I booked I was promised free coffee n tea, free breakfast and a complimentary bottle of water. Got non of that. Coffee n tea is in lobby n about 5rmb a cup. You have two bottles of water in your room which I was charged 10 rmb for and my free breakfast they wanted me to pay 20 plus yuan for. I just went to waffle place on corner for 9 n way better food. Over all nice place n I'd stay again but watch out for the nickel and Dimon on stuff that's supposed to be included.
4 out of 5
by Ryan

good for your money

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here, the only issue was that there was no breakfast when we were there early December. The staff were nice and the room was clean and cosy. The area is good for he sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your support,and welcome to come again