Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location, worn interior

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Located right next door to the Forbidden City and Tian an men square, the location is ideal for touring these attractions on foot. The hotel also has an interesting history which you can read inside and outside the building. There are small shops and restaurants on the same street. The room we were assigned on arrival was on the first floor (so the view was blocked by walls), the AC and fridge did not work. As the temperature was 40 degrees, we asked for a room change and were very pleased with our 5th floor room with a view, as well as working AC!! The front desk staff, with one or two exceptions, did not speak English, so it we were glad we did not have any serious issues.Apart from calling for a taxi, there was not a lot they could offer us in terms of directions/explanations. The interior is definitely worn and needs new carpeting and wall paper/painting. But the bed was comfortable and the room big enough. We did not eat at the hotel, but enjoyed the food outside at a small restaurant on the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
The rooms haven't been maintained that well but it will do the job. Hotel staff barely spoke any english. The location is great though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very good value

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Location, history and great staff
Cons: Breakfast buffet could stand improvement.
Location: Historical sites are very close and major shopping also.
Older hotel with very fascinating history. Excellent location close to Forbidden city (10 minute walk) and major shopping (Wanfujing pedestrian mall area). Rooms aren't glamorous, but quite clean and well functional. Staff is really good and very attentive. We'd definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Short trip

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Bare minimum. Comfortable enough but quite dated. Clean and close enough to the major tourist spots in Beijing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Great hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Friendly staff, good location, clean and comfortable rooms -Would use it again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good Access

Posted Jul 1, 2017
15 min walk to subways, Tinnmen Square and Forbidden City. Mall nearby as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Many good things but wrong policy.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The location, food, and staff are good. But ... 1. The hotel is old. Floors in all rooms are covered with old stained carpets. Very dusty rooms. Cleaning does not help. After the first terrible night we asked the administration to clean everything: the carpet, the bed, the walls, and the curtains. The did and the second night was OK. 2. When we arrived, the hotel hosted a conference. The restaurant served only participants. Smoking is not allowed in the hotel, but the conference participants were smoking and making noise. When we complained, the administration simply offered us co change the room - what we did.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Facilities,friendliness of staff.
Location: Tiana men square,forbidden city and shopping district all close by.
Sport Facilities stated on website and on hotel booklet no longer exist.
5 out of 5
by Stephane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Fraser

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels