Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Elton

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
The location - in a hutong, and near to a metro station - was good for us. The courtyard, which we ate breakfast in , was its best aspect. The room itself was a bit small, and bathroom and furniture tired. Insufficient lighting.
5 out of 5
by Roman from Durban

Great value for money

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Traditional Chinese accommodation in a hutong but in close proximity of a subway station. Great service from the reception staff - the ladies readily helped with directions and transport suggestions and even went out of their way to confirm a tour I had booked elsewhere. The only downside is that this hotel, being in a hutong, can be hard to locate for some taxi drivers.
5 out of 5
by ming

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Posted Jul 9, 2017
staff was very helpful in giving directions for site seeing.
5 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anna

Well connected

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very atmospheric and staff had good English and were helpful. Courtyard view was overlooking a roof but not really a problem. Wifi was very slow and no wired connection despite claiming one on hotels.com. Local area had great restaurants and well connected. Walking distance from forbidden city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Traditional Hotel located in the Hutongs.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very beautiful hotel with traditional chinese settings, close to main attractions and metro station. Minutes of walk from Shopping street Nankulaoshiang. Breakfast is great and staffs are very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shenzhen, China

The best hutong hotel I've stayed in

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Old Beijing experience. Feeling of connection with history. I expect Confucius or Laozi to be holding forth in the courtyard.
Cons: Room was a bit cold, but that was taken care of by a space heater.
Location: It's got history, it's got hip young culture, it's got Western-style bars and restaurants. If I had to live in BJ, I'd live here.
Hutong means old China, and generally it implies that you're going to have to put up with substandard conditions. Of the four hutong hotels I've stayed in during my time in China, this is the best, by far. The compromises between comfort, on the one hand, and traditional Chinese experience, on the other hand, were minimal. If what you want is an old-Beijing experience, this can't be beaten!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great comfortable stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Nice staff that booked us on a Great Wall tour. Our room was small but very cosy. Bathroom modern. Clean and 2 heaters as it was freezing outside. 2 min walk from Metro station and a main tourist/shopping street. Quiet location opposite a police station. Great stay and great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Great small hotel in "hutong", close to everything

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Small hotel, easy access to Forbidden City, Tiannamin Square. Walk to sights like Bell Tower, Lama Temple. Good price. Rooms basic but clean, well kept. Front desk staff spoke decent English. Neighborhood filled with little shops, funky restaurants and coffee shops with free wifi. Easy access to subway.