Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Anthony

A taste of traditional Beijing

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
A great place to stay in a fantastic area of Beijing. In a traditional hutong close to the Drum Tower and an easy walk to the nearest Subway station. There are lots of little activities dotted around the communal area - calligraphy, games, traditional costumes and musical instruments. Staff are friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.It is always a pleasure for us to create memorable moments for our guests, and we hope to have you again with us on your next visit to Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

True China experience

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This hotel is very small and hard to find but it's like a gem. If you want to experience true China way of living known for centuries this is a place for you. This hotel is located in a 300 hundred years old hutong that is now remodeled and have all the needed futures to be comfortable, yet still have the character. The rooms are small but charming and you can enjoy a beautiful courtyard filled with old Chinese instruments. Try to write Chinese letters and have a nice tea Chinese style.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments,it was so nice to meet you here and we hope you will have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Apr 12, 2017
As a young woman traveling alone, this hotel experience was great and I felt very safe. The staff was very nice and accommodating. It is in a Hutong and very close to some great sites. My room was clean and it had a great old school China feel to it. The only thing I would change is the bed, it was not the softest but that was how most the beds were in my china travels. If/when I go back to China I will make sure to stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.
5 out of 5
by Russell

Old Beijing Square Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was great! They were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. If your looking for a traditional experience while in China, this is the place to stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Can't choose anything nice in the room or the nearby area as it was really not a good option for us. The room facility is poor and it's located far away from the streets. The only thing good in the hotel is probably the price (and maybe the public area if you'd like to chill at the lobby). Ok.. the coffee machine which offers free coffee is perhaps the best thing we had in our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Old Beijing Square,we are sorry that you did not have a good stay here.Because our hotel is over 300 years old,many bulidings are really old.Coffee and cookies are free.Thanks for your comment,we will do better in the future.Wish you have a good time!
4 out of 5
by Debra from New York

Perfect stay in the houtong.

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a little hotel in the houtong area in Beijing. It is NOT a fancy area. It is where the people live and go about there everyday lives. It is very interesting and easy to walk around. There is a very lively night street to eat and mingle with the crowds. The rooms at the hotel are clean but not luxurious. There is ac and English TV. Breakfast is simple but filling and tasty. The staff is lovely and always wants to help. They will teach you Chinese calligraphy and how to play ancient Chinese instruments. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to get to know the people and culture of China.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smiling service

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
A nice experience however it could do with a little more attention to detail. The ambiance was lovely, the service was excellent. However, beds lacked comfort, could do with more pillows, and the rooms are small. It is nice for a night or two but for longer stays i would reccommend elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment and sorry for all the inconvenience we caused during your stay. We admittedly agree what your say about our hotel and we have been on the way to solve the problems step by step. U can feel our progress during your next visit. Wish you a good day!!
3 out of 5
by Bhagwatee from Toronto

unique..old charm.staff going the extra mile.

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Lychee and Martin were invaluable to me. Helped me with vegetarian food from the kitchen and did not charge for them. They won't accept a tip at the end either. Helped me with my luggage. I really loved this place with its old charm and offerings of seasonal fruit. The only downside is the common areas were very cold. As soon as you arrive the hotel card should be offered to guest. I got lost the first time out . 9
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
We appreciate so much for your patient comment and feel so sorry for the inconvinence we caused. We will take it seriouly and solve it out. Looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel in scenic area

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Friendly English speaking staff, clean rooms, hotel situated in one of the most scenic areas -the hutongs- of Beijing, a winner! Breakfast might feel a bit basic but with so much cheap and tasty food all around shouldn't reall be a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment. Wish you a good day!! Welcome to come back again.
4 out of 5
by Gideon Mersereau from Fredericton, NB, Canada

Traditional Chinese Courtyard Inn

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was very accommodating and place looked clean & orderly and nicely decorated with traditional musical theme and objets d'art. Stayed in a king bedroom with dim overhead light and barely sufficient space to move around the bed. Otherwise, the room had all the amenities including compimentary bottled water and herbal tea packages with phone, kettle, TV and multiple toiletries in the well-lit and well-appointed ensuite shower-bathroom. Close to street food take-outs and small family restaurants. Of special mention is Mr.Shi's Dumplings which tho' pricier than average gives good value for tourists looking for a clean place to eat with a decent menu offering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments.We appreciate so much for your all object comments given above and we will keep on what we good at and improve what should be improved. Our hotel provides you with all the necessary equipments for your connvinence.Looking forward to see you next time and wish a good day.