Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

This was a high end hotel, 20 years ago.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Read my review.
Location: Good location, central to subway, shopping, sights etc.
I have been staying here off and on for about 10 years now. It's not bad now, and I might stay again, but with lowered expectations. The rooms and facilities are all showing wear and tear, bathroom towels are somewhat thread bare, carpets need replacement etc. Most of the staff are quite helpful, sort of makes up for the lackluster facilities, except for the lobby lounge/coffee/bar area, where service can be abysmal. The one good thing is the breakfast buffet, good selection and reasonable price. The dinner buffet is overpriced at 275 RMB, you can get a first class meal for that price in many good BJ restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Past its Prime

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Just like your uncle you thought was so cool as a kid, this hotel peaked 10-15 years ago as well. The hotel has all the signs that it was once the best spot on the street but wasn't able to keep up with the times. The lobby was deceivingly nice as you are greeted with a beautiful fountain and marble floors, but once you get to your room, reality sinks in. Filthy carpet, broken desktop computer, awful view of the alley, and there was a plastic bag used to somehow fix the shower (still can't figure that one out). Being a budget conscious traveler I am able to look past the above listed issues considering I got a good deal on the room. But I feel others should know what they are walking into in case they are expecting more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Clean and closed to the 故宮博物院,國家博物館,天安門及王府井大街,We can catch shuttle to Capital Airport, price is very good too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Decent location

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel were located in the north side of Wangfujing Shopping district. It was within walking distance to subway station and the shopping district. The room I stayed has no views, and the hotel charged 39yuan for a bottle water left on the counter .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Thank you for your hospitality. We enjoyed your hotel and also being able to go and see all of beijing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Comfortable hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
I always find The Prime comfortable with all the basics in place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK.

Ripped off by reception

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel was adequate but tainted by my experience.
Cons: Get rid of the scammers.
Location: Top of wangle St.
Unfortunately my review is tarnished by a member of reception at night, we arrived at 5pm to be told our rooms were being cleaned so left the luggage at reception. At 11pm we returned and there was no roll away bed in my room of 3 adults. When to reception to remedy a minor problem. The night receptionist said it costs 300rmb for a bed nightly but none are available , well I'm not sleeping on the floor says I when I paid for a 3 person room and there was only a double bed. But there is a single room available for 6th rob says reception. No.No. says I your problem I'm calling Expedia. The receptionist then went into the back and said the Night Manager as found a 300rmb cot, I was by then so tired that I paid but got a receipt written as a paper chit. I then asked to speak to the night manager the receptionist then went onto the back and returned saying he's just gone on patrol. When I got upstairs the rollaway was there and had been for the last 10 minutes.Whether it's a 1 person scam or a night scam I don't know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
very large hotel, everything in the room is for an extra cost. expensive coffee shop and....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

This hotel was fabulous for our 5 day stay.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Cons: They are having problems with the strength of their internet. If your room is weak simply ask the front dest for a booster for your room.
Location: This hotel is located right on Wangfujing street about five blocks up from the Forbidden City, the main shopping area, and Snack Street.
It was obvious to us that the staff loves to work at that hotel. We enjoyed our room and ate several meals in the cafe in the lobby. We also used room service for breakfast before launching into a day of tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
This hotel is located very close to main attractions like the Forbidden City and Tiananman Square. Our room was very clean and well maintained, though it was odd that we did not have the chance to notify the hotel staff to not clean our room while we were gone. The room was spacious and provided us everything we needed. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.