Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Great hotel for China standards. Great location between Wangfujing and Tiananmen Square. Staff speaks some English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel, very good location but bad plumbing

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Nice hotel, walking distance from the forbidden city, Wangfujing street and train station. The only problem in this hotel is the bathroom plumbing, the whole room smells horrible because of the bathroom sink, so bad that we couldn't leave the bathroom's door open. The other problem that we found is that no one can speak more than a few words in English in the hotel (but that is a problem that we had everywhere in Beijing, so can't really blame the hotel for that). Apart of it, very good hotel, well located, and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia USA

Excellent location

Posted May 6, 2017
The rooms are furnished well and of good quality. The location is near walking parks and walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the government complex and even close enough (for me) to walk to Forbidden City. Wangfujiang shopping street and snack street are a few blocks away, as is a metro station. Vendors selling delicious breakfast pancakes in early morning on the block in front.
2 out of 5
by Angel Gonzalo

Good location, but Bad service and not very clean

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The service was very bad. Not so friendly. There were many receptionist but only one was working. Their English was very basic. We stay twice a si a layover. The first time the toilet was peed. The second time, they gave us a room that was occupied by someone else. We complained about it and they said it wasn't empty and we should try again, but it was really occupied by someone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel a little old, room very dark

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Found hotel reception staff very rude to my partner, other staff quite helpful. Room dark not much lighting, situated in old part of city.
5 out of 5
by JoLyn

Reasonably Priced and Comfortable

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Out of our 10 day trip, this hotel actually felt like a hotel. Great location and I loved the free bottle water and rain shower. Subway, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square are just a 5 minute walk. We got the room without a view. It still had a window so we were able to get ventilation. I could some guests in the hallway but they were speaking quite loud. I did have trouble figuring out the air conditioning unit. I ran it all night and didn't feel any difference. I'd happily stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneasota

Close to shopping

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel is ok. The elevator does not work, and I had a surprise charge at the end for cleaning a towel I wiped tea up with. It is in a great location. They called a taxi for me to get to the airport and the taxi driver ripped me off. Instead of giving me change he got in the car and left. Overall I would not recommend to a friend. I stayed at another hotel in Beijing that was cheaper and had a way better experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is older, but very close to attractions

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity
Cons: Hard beds, A/C not working, very dark
Location: Forbidden City, Tianenmen Square, great shopping streets (Wangfujing)
I feel that this hotel is artificially inflated on rating due to the really great location. It's less than 10 minute walk to Forbidden City and Tianenmen Square. You can book tours (we did) to Great Wall, Summer Palace, etc. straight from their business center (be sure to do it at night the night BEFORE you leave. Otherwise, you risk not being able to pay. If you forget, just ask the tour guide when they show up if you can pay the hotel. We did and it worked out.) The hotel is old, stuffy, and the beds are very hard. No A/C (it's there but doesn't work), and the rooms on one side of the hotel are really, really dark (building in close enough proximity to touch out the window, blocks all light). I wouldn't stay here again unless Forbidden City was our main staple. We were there for the Wall, and Forbidden City so I woul dhave stayed a bit farther away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It's a nice 3 star hotel with an excellent location for visiting te main attraction in BJ. Room are little tiny but super clean. It's perfect for those who use the room but for spending few hours (shower and sleep). Price is very good.
3 out of 5
by John

Read reviews. Make a choice.

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nicely furnished but dated, heating stuck on 30-33 degrees, clould not adjust it as air con was broken, we asked, they said we could have a fan, none came. Staff had very poor communication skills very little English for an international hotel. Window opened in to a courtyard so no air and lots of concentrated noise from restaurant and ground floor. 500¥ needed for a damages deposit, this was not explained before hand, surprise.