Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Benito from Los Angeles and Madrid

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
Xiao was very nice and spoke perfect English. We didn't want a western type of hotel and that's what we got, a typical Chinese hotel inside the forbidden city! Not for everybody only for those with an open mind willing to try new experiences.
4 out of 5
by Shane from Portland OR

Enjoyed the hotel and my stay

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very old and nostalgic and I loved that; others may not like it as much. Area was great - central Beijing, right next to Tiananmen. Hotel staff was super helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

Travelers Beware! Do not stay here!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: This should never be a recommended hotel on Expedia. The pictures are out dated and the amenities are incorrect.
Location: The location of this hotel is incorrect from the map above. It is on a back alley that is not friendly to tourists.
Easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life and throughout my months of being in China. They advertise breakfast and free wifi? They have neither of these things. coffee maker? none. Free toiletries in the "luxury honeymoon suite"? More like half used bottles of shampoo and pellets of soap. The towels were mismatched and ragged with other hotel's embroidered logos on them! I arrived to a hotel in disarray and was FILTHY. Does not look anything like the advertised pictures. My room had no windows in it (unless you count the giant hole in the bathroom ceiling that was open to the outdoors). There were used tissues on the desk and trash in the bins in the room. The bathroom was disgusting and the shower was covered in mold (did I mention NO shower drain?). Under no circumstances would i recommend this to any traveler, no matter how "rugged" or "basic" your travel hotel requirements are. It became very clear during my stay that this in fact a family home that simply has a few rooms for rent. I was the only guest during my stay (NOW i know why!). This hotel is located on a back alley (not where the above map suggests the location is) and is not in a tourist friendly place. I did not feel safe taking my shoes off in the hotel room due to the bathroom. The sink faucet was broken and required you to pry the handle to turn on the sink. I wish there was a way for me to upload pictures of what this hotel REALLY looks like now.
2 out of 5
by Stephen from Singapore

Does not fall below expectation

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
Considering the proximity of the hotel to Tian An Men and the Forbidden City, this hotel is OK if you don't mind the somewhat spartan room.
1 out of 5
by Renan from Costa Rica

No for westerners

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
No for westerners. This would be OK for internal chinese tourists but no for us. Strong odor coming from the bath drainage, believe me you don't want to be there. The location was OK to visit Forbidden City but it was really overpriced for the quality of this hotel. I will never go back and don't recommend this "Hotel". If you have booked and read this, you must change the plan now, otherwise will be too late.
4 out of 5
by Jamin' Jamie from New York

Mostly Happy

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location. Woman host very helpful. Very authentic Hutong-based experience. Old decor through out thats pretty cool. Internet OK- But no Facebook, Google, Twitter etc.. Chinese government has them blocked!! %$#! A bit run down, bathroom in our room was very small and felt unsanitary. They need to hire a better and more detailed cleaning staff. If your looking for cheap place to crash and authentic local Beijing experience to get the full effect at a good rate- this is your place. If you need pretty and all modern conveniences- move on.
1 out of 5
by SB from Toronto, ON

Horrible Experience

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was not at all what I had expected; it was very different from what I saw in the pictures. For one, the entrance was in a dark, back alley and there was junk piled up in front of the hotel. My room was dirty (e.g. giant wad of hair in the bathroom, dirty plate and cups), and in need of maintenance (e.g. 12-in hole in the ceiling, 36-in by 12-in water damage spot on the ceiling, about six holes in the shower, 6-in by 3-in of plaster peeled off wall). Additionally, the room had no security and little privacy (i.e. glass wall covered by an ill-fitting curtain, unable to fully lock the door from inside) and the area just outside my room was being used for storage. I spent only 2-3 hours at the hotel, because Immediately upon arrival, I called hotels.com for a refund and to find me a new hotel. When I was leaving, the hotel informed me that they would not refund me for two nights, because that was their policy. Due to the shabby state of the hotel, however, I received a full refund from hotels.com. The location was excellent, but I do not recommend staying at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Larry from Diamond Bar, CA

Cheap but not clean

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
It is a nice hotel, too bad they are not doing the regular maintenance work. Drapery are falling down, tearing apart. The restroom is not very clean, but for the price we paid should be considered Okay. The location is super, very close to Tiananmen, one of the main attraction in Beijing. There is no breakfast, but you can get to try local eatery within the walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Sandi

This hotel is way over priced!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The court area had a special charm about it.
Cons: The walls had mould on them and showed be cleaned and freshly painted. The sink had only cold running water. The shower had a held hand nozel.
You can stay at much nicer hotels that are 4 star and within the same location + breakfast included. The taxi driver could not even find the street. It is located in a one way alley. The walls and ceilings have hold mould on them. The pictures are deceiving. The courtyard is quaint, however, the rooms are not up to par for its price. The staff spoke English well enough to understand. I would rate this as a 2-3 star hostel.