Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Proximity to visitor centre excellent

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Newgrange visitor centre only a five minute walk down the road ensured we were on the first buses to Newgrange.
Cons: The room was small for a twin room. The television could not be seen from one of the beds. The bathroom door opened onto one of the beds . This was more of a single room with two beds in it. Why not have a buffet cooked breakfast when a large unused kitchen is in the dining area. Continental breakfast - who has this food for breakfast anyway? It is certainly not English!
Location: Excellent for our trip to Newgrange.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel Heaven (of sorts.)

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
All in All this is a nice place to stay in summer with all the buzz of the kids adventure activities. HOWEVER. Management please note. If you are going to charge Hotel rates (albeit lower end prices) Then really you need to up the game on the breakfast availability front Why not just let people make their own breakfast after Ten am. Easy just leave the stuff out for us. Other than that minor detail Very nice place to stay with lovely helpful staff. Bit expensive for a hostel though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent ho(s)tel from which to visit Newgrange

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Excellent geographical location next to the Newgrange Visitor Centre and close to other Boyne Valley places of interest. The room was basic but clean and comfortable enough for a short stay. The public lounge and sunroom well furnished with armchairs and sofas. The continental breakfast fine - eat as much as you want! I would really recommend this to those on a limited budget. Child friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location, but...

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed here due to its proximity to Newgrange megalithic site and the ability to get there early for tickets. It was very noisy the night we stayed, with a huge racket at 3am which woke us with a start. The room was small, pretty basic and not in great condition. Sound-proofing was poor. The double bed had a big sag in it on my side, so I slept in the single bed which was also crammed into the room. While the sheets were clean, the bathroom wasn't particularly so. The breakfast (included in the price) was OK - cereal, juice, toast and a pancake maker, if you wanted. But there were a lot of flies in the breakfast room.
4 out of 5
by Colette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We stayed one night in a family room. It was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good. Staff was welcoming and the environment was very pleasant and bright.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funky

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
Am interesting place. Staff were nice but accommodations were simple. Continental breakfast was good. Bathroom ceiling had peeling paint and mold but the rest of the bathroom was clean. They will call ahead to book Newgrange tours, and the visitor center is about a 10 minute walk. The Wi-Fi only worked in the public areas, we had no signal in our room. The lines and central courtyard were pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Heather from Australia

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Great location, friendly and helpful staff