Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aged facility, dirty room

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: It had rooms available
Cons: Needs a major update
Location: Sturgeon Bay is lovely, the gateway to Door county's tourist destinations.
This place needs an overhaul. The back door was taped so anyone could enter the motel at anytime. I was very disappointed to find dog feces under the table and a strong air freshner scent in my room. They did move me to another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaver Dam WI

the pool was freezing

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: room was nice
Cons: the pool temp needed to be much much warmer
Location: near downtown
The room was nice and the breakfast above average but the swimming pool was a frigid 68 degrees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mother's Day get-away in Door County

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Great hot breakfast, clean and the price was affordable
Cons: The pool was closed and the front door stuck - otherwise, it was great.
Location: This is the entry to Door County! Need I say more?
We had a very minimal budget, and thanks to Expedia, we found this hotel in Sturgeon Bay that we could afford. We figured, "How bad could it be for just one night?" and were expecting something not so great. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The place was very nice, very clean, modern & well-kept. The bed was comfortable, and the room temperature adjusted quickly to the somewhat cool way we like it, without the horrible racket of some hotel rooms. There were hot items in the free breakfast, including waffles, eggs & sausage - plus fresh fruit, yogurt & several things for my sweet tooth. There was even a great restaurant within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Convenient hotel for a good price

Posted Dec 3, 2015
The two hotel employees that we interacted with were very nice and personable. We liked the free breakfast- it was all we needed and more (eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, apples & oranges, toast, doughnuts, etc...). The pool area looked decent but we did not use it- maybe if there was a hot tub we would have. The room was clean (beside the ceiling) and was decorated nicely and included a bigger fridge with a large freezer space (not full size but bigger than you normally see in a hotel). My only real complaint was the bathroom. The bathroom had a toilet seat cover that did not even fit entirely over the toilet bowl, cracked and missing grout on the floor tiles, peeling wallpaper, and the plastic shower floor creaked and cracked so loudly we thought we were going to fall through to the second floor! In general this hotel looked like it could use some TLC, and a thorough dusting, but you get what you pay for and we were only there for one night. I would recommend spending a bit more at another hotel if you are staying in Sturgeon Bay for more than one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and Moldy Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: The staff needs to be more helpful and clean. If you work with the public at least have your hair brushed and your teeth brushed.
Location: The location was good and things around it was very nice
The room was very musty smelling and the bathroom walls were really moldy. I would not recommend anyone staying here until they can get it cleaned up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Oct 26, 2015
I have seen bad reviews, hotel is not that bad. Nice bed, good breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: security, side door was taped open at night, so anyone could enter. Our room security lock was completely missing. It was also very expensive.
my friend left her new sweater in the breakfast room, when we went back down to get it, everyone seemed to know about it , even described it to us, but could not find it. Telling us , it was here behind the desk, but could not find it. We both felt it was an internal theft, and was very disappointed in the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything needed to be cleaned!!
Location: No comment
The first thing we noticed was the hallway/stairs had not been vacuumed for some time and had many stains. When we got to the room, which was suppose to be nonsmoking, it smelled stale, musty and we couldn't even open the windows to get any fresh air. The beds appeared rumpled and were poorly made. The front door to the hotel was dirty and full of finger prints. Needless to say, it did not meet our expectations and we cancelled our stay and went home. We were offered another room, but due to what we had seen, didn't accept the offer. This hotel fell far short of what we expected.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Cleanliness

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Carpet not vacuumed, someone's food in fridge, mold on bathroom ceiling, bottle caps behind bed stand along with dusty alarm clock, broken toilet seat. Whole place needs cleaning and updates
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Hotel close to area of wedding

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Original reservation was for king bed and it was changed to queen. Room was not vacuumed, there was someone's food in. fridge, No garbage can except for bathroom. Took 3 tries to get key card programmed. Although it was fixed promptly, toilet seat in second nights room was broken