Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menomonee Falls

A nice spot

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: It's located on the edge of Door County - all kinds of things to do in Door County. Blue Front cafe - excellent food!
A good location on the water with a nice view. Full kitchen if needed, and nice people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Snug Harbor

Posted Mar 18, 2016
The hotel was nice and clean, The location was nice with a nice view and The staff was nice and polite. The only thing we thought could be improved is the privacy factor of the room itself as the blinds were not very good, and since people can walk by right next to your window and door you don't really want to feel like people can look right in your room which we observed was actually the reality. We would recommend better window/Door coverings my either adding some solid curtains to the blinds or replacing them with some good draperies that offer real privacy.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Owner, Hotel Management
We appreciate that you took a moment to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We know you have choices and hope we will see you return to Snug Harbor Inn on your next visit to Door County.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Old, I am use to newer more modern hotels. nothing more to add.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2015 by Owners, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Snug Harbor. Snug Harbor Inn, Cottages and Marina is a family owned property that is not going to be anything like a chain motel. We pride ourselves on not being cookie cutter. We are told that people are impressed with our cleanliness, quality of linens, exceptional water view. We are always looking on how to improve and would love to hear more on your expectations and how we did not meet those.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

It is quaint!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: location and atmosphere
Cons: get rid of the musty smell
Location: not far from downtown, good restaurants available nearby. right on a marina so it is picturesque.
We enjoyed our stay. the staff was very nice and accommodating. We enjoyed visiting with other guests around a campfire. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortble. Very clean. There was a "musty" smell, though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Small room also let down by lack of airing

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: position is great, and if you had a few days and a fishing line, or rent a small boat this would be great.
Cons: Air the rooms frequently. Heavy mouldy smell on entering the room. Put on the aircon ,fan only and the smelly went within3 hours or so and stayed away
Location: Fishing, boating, walking,,,lots to do of that kind.
The bed was not hard, but too hard for me. BUT I HAVE BEEN HAVING TROUBLES AT HOME WITH OWN MATTRESSES, so it is my problem but on this trip (today is about day 29 of a 45 day trip) I have only had one other problem with a mattress and not as bad as here.
4 out of 5
by Dean from Minnesota

A late summer stay

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: We liked the private balcony, the skylights, the view of the harbor, and the spiral staircase.
Cons: The exterior could use a little paint
Location: The location gave us easy access to the roads on both sides of the peninsula and the town. The best dining was at Woldt's Corner.
We arrived after Labor Day to a warm welcome and an invitation to view all of the rooms and cottages. We chose the one we wanted. The bed was comfortable and the weather was good enough so we didn't need the A/C or fireplace/heat on. Everyone there was helpful and personable. Due to us being there late in the season, there wasn't a lot to do after 5 PM, boat rentals, walking paths and beaches were not close. Boat rentals and fishing tours were available - but we chose not to do them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Will not go back, not impressed.

Posted Sep 26, 2011
The hotel definitely needs updates. I paid quite a bit for one night I expected alot nicer. The wall paper border in the room was falling off the wall, the bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows were very very thin. If you make a reservation here make sure you are sure you want to stay here, they have a 14 day cancellation policy. There is no continental breakfast served here. They did not have service as above and beyond. Was not impressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Peaceful comfort in town...only a few feet away from the water.

Posted Jun 9, 2010
Snug Harbor is not for those folks looking for fancy lodging, swimming pools, or excitement! It is small and intimate, just feet from the river and abounding with nature's entertainment. We were entranced with all the wild birds with their young broods that nested in a river cove next to the resort, and watched a bald eagle soar above us as it watched them, too! The resident dog and cat introduced themselves and then promptly ignored us! They provided plenty of lawn furniture and grills......so you can relax at the end of a day of exploring or fishing while you grill your own catch and watch the sun set. It is situated so you can also watch the sun rise. Our room was clean, very light and airy, and had added personal decorating touches that were not typical of resort/hotel rooms. Our picture window that faced the water was huge and you could lie in bed and view the river. We stayed the end of May, which is early in the tourist season, so there were only a few other guests noted during our stay. There are several good places to eat in Sturgeon Bay...at all different price ranges. More reasonable food cost than farther up the Door Peninsula. This area and resort retains that 'back to the fifties' feel......not into fast food chains, cookie cutter decor, and billboards! In fact, you have to look to find the resort sign even when you are there! We would go back again and stay longer next time.