Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great experience ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Cons: Bed Height and level of commode
Location: Near Lake Michigan Not much to do
Chose it to be close to golf-- should have stayed in Sturgeon Bay at The Holiday Music Motel (which we did the next night)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to our destination for a wedding

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Convenience
Cons: See some of the above.
Location: Barnsite
As the website states, it's a historical facility. The hotel is clean, but very old. There are no frills. Nothing more than a place to rest your head for the night. The shower was lukewarm at best. They could stand to use a little more light in the bathroom. You almost can't see anything when the shower curtain is closed. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast because everyone was smoking on the porch and the stick was wafting into the food area, since the doors were all open. We chose to walk to Kunkel's Korner for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

No elevator

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Pretty much everything. Install an elevator. Upgrade bathrooms and furnishings. Have 24 hour staff.
This looked to be a charming B&B type hotel from the pictures, but the room was nothing like the photos. First of all, we were on the third floor and there was no elevator and no one to help us with the luggage. Once we trudged up to the room, we were greeted by the view of a solid brick wall. There were no closets and no opportunity to hang up our clothes, just a hook on the back of the door. The sink was cracked, and the unusually large bathroom had one dim bulb on the very high ceiling so it was kind of creepy taking a shower in semi-darkness. The two queen beds were comfortable enough, but the pillows were rock hard. The hair dryer was from another century. The decor was a mixed bag of faux antiques, northwoods and dorm style. We left as soon as we could the next morning, especially after discovering there was no breakfast other than pizza. We are not college kids, so that wasn't the least bit appealing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Creek

Nice historic hotel overlooking the lake

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We had a great stay. Staff was pleasant, room was clean. There were a lot of creaks during the night but i think it was because of the age of the hotel. The only thing that i would have changed was on our 2nd day there was no coffee at about 8am and the food was picked over. I think another pot of coffee should have been made since the continental breakfast went until 10am. Overall it was a nice stay. The hotel pizza was great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

It's a nice little hotel good for one night.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Quaint, historical, kind of reminded me of the Shady Rest Hotel on Petticoat Junction.
Cons: Get some new mattresses for the beds.
Location: The town is very small and not much activity at night at all. The town seems very safe so able to walk around at night without fear.
It's a nice little hotel with an interesting history. The rooms are OK, it is clean, but the mattresses need to be replaced. No elevator so you have to lug your bags up a stairs. It was a fun place to stay for one night, but I would not want to stay there for more than a night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Lake Michigan

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Be sure to ask for a room with a view or u will be looking at brick walls. Weekend breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice and quiet place

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Clean, quiet and conveniently located. Great price point. Very old fashioned place and cute town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was great. Love the old charm of the building. The rooms were very eclectic but they were very inviting. The service from the Manager, to the Bar tender were great. It was an awesome experience and I would stay there again. The haunting added a very interesting touch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Interesting Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: The interesting atmosphere
We enjoyed our stay and the staff was very helpful