Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not the best experience, but close to water.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We stayed at the Karsten for a wedding at the Lakehaven Hall in Kewaunee. The location was by far the best thing about this hotel. When we checked in (8pm on a Friday) we had to wait 5-10 minutes for a staff member to arrive, which also happened when we checked out at 7:30am on Sunday. I didn't like that there was never anyone at the front desk. I knew that it was a historic hotel, however, I felt our room was a terrible disappointment. There were two queen beds that were hard and uncomfortable, a sloping floor (with a 1 inch gap below the door where I could see into the hallway), an old tube TV, and the room had a musty, sweet smell. I tried to open the windows to remedy the smell, but they were glued shut. Luckily we were mostly out of the room during our stay, though some of that was intentional because I was so disenchanted with our room. Next time I would make the drive from Green Bay or somewhere else rather than stay at the Karsten again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We liked the history & the remodeling with modern conveniences
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Historic boutique hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Historic boutique hotel, with room setvice, Jacuzzi tubs, king or queen size beds carpeted stairs, no elevator. Front dedk not always staffed. Food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grern bay, wi

Close to the wedding venue

Posted May 9, 2017
Was good, we all stayed on wedding nite, single bed rooms were much nicer than our room with 2 queens in it. But it was close and would stay there again
4 out of 5
by Rick Lehman from Green Bay

Reception

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
it was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what the photos promised

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Dated. Lousy pillows. Mold on shower curtain. Restaurant and bar area closed. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love old buildings.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Great pizza!
So the hotel was very comfortable for the most part, was a little drafty because of the time of year and the high ceilings but it has so much character that you don't mind. Love the decode it was spot on for the period, and the history is so interesting that if you are looking for an adventure this is your place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Weird

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Can't think of anything
Cons: Coffee maker in the room would be great.
Location: The location met my needs.
I've never stayed in a hotel where I was the only guest and the staff/owner left for the night. I believe I was the only person (guest or staff) in the hotel each of the 3 nights I stayed. I did not have cell service (not their fault) and the phone in my room didn't work. I did have internet though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed dining at Port O Call on the bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Packer fans.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleased to find a reasonably priced room not too far from Lambeau Field when the Packers played Thursday night and everything in Green Bay was booked. Late check in after the game was no problem. Continental breakfast didn't amount to much. Glad I didn't have much luggage to carry up to third floor room (no elevator). Quaint hotel décor and nice little town (Kewaunee). View of Lake Michigan from the lobby.