Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from De Pere, WI

Just a place to sleep for the night

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Convenient to downtown Sturgeon Bay. Had a great shower
Cons: Needs an elevator
We just need a place to sleep for the night and this facility was adequate to fit that need. It certainly needs some updating and getting in an elevator is a MUST.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
whole hotel seemed somewhat run down and unkept and outdated. staff at desk dressed VERY casually, could be a little more professional. No protein at all at breakfast, not even boiled eggs or peanut butter packets. All carbs. My A/C/fan did not seem to work for a bit but they did get it going
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: The location was easy to find.
The carpets were dirty in the halls an needed replacing. The bathroom toilet was not anchored down so tipped when you got off. The floor had loose pieces of cement from the walls in the bathroom which should have been at least swept. The doors to the room were so thin you could hear all the noise in the hall. Our blanket on the bed was worn out an had a weird smell! Would not stay at a super 8 again/I'd pay more for a cleaner place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crosse, WI

Clean rooms, good location

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, good breakfast, good location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near the marine museum, the fireboat tour, restaurants nearby.
The rooms were clean. There were a good variety of breakfast items--hot and cold items. The location was convenient,near restaurants, and a quiet location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Location: Location was good
Needs carpet on first floor replaced. Needs to be updated and repairs made in rooms..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location Thank you to the staff member who recomended great places for dinner & drinks.
Cons: Clean better.
Location: We had dinner at Kitty O'Riellys food & music was awesome. Drinks at Greystone Castle, the staff was the BEST!! Great night at both of these places.
The cleaning staff needs to make sure a sheets are clean. We had 2 Queen beds & 1 of them had stains on the sheets. A joining room door area was very dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

super 8 sturgeon bay

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: good air handler the room.
Cons: needs remodeling
Yes, it was too expensive and kind of a dive, but what you get in door county with 1 week booking notice in the middle of cherry season. But, some of the reviews I have seen are unfair. It's a place to sleep. bed was clean. Air handler was not too loud or quiet. No noisy neighbors. Plan ahead and you won't have to stay here. If you don't, well... its OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: breakfast and pool area, although the pool area had a total of 5 towels so good thing there weren't a lot of people at the pool.
Cons: The overall rooms, hallways....furnishings remind me of the 60s.
Location: Great area, that's it.
This hotel is run down, old furnishings, etc. The door of our room leading out to hallway did not shut all the way, you could see into our room. The breakfast was ok. Staff didn't seem happy to be there or to wait on me, talk about a flat affect! No smile, no happy, no nothing! I asked for 2 extra bath towels since I used the ones in our room to try to block out the light coming from the crack of the door that wouldn't shut all the way and you would have thought I asked to have a free night. It was $100 room but I expected a little more. I won't stay again or recommend it. It gave me the feeling of a place that would be littered with bed bugs although it was not and thank goodness for that. It was clean but just average looking because everything about the room was outdated. The doors leading to the outside of the hotel didn't lock shut so really overall, I didn't feel very safe staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Not so great service

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: - Clean sheet! - Fridge in the room!
Cons: - Better bathroom cleaning - moldy grout, yikes! - Steam clean carpets in hallways, entrance, foyer, and rooms - More attentive staff
Location: - Walk the board walk - Wineries!
Hotel is clean but antiquated. I expected a lot more for the $117 per night I paid. Steam cleaning is needed, grout needed to be removed and reapplied in the bath tub, overall the entire hotel needs updating. If you are looking for a vintage hotel, this is your place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset wi.

Lots of updating

Posted Jul 27, 2015
I was worried about staying here after reading past reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. Everything repainted new flat screen tv's. Updated breakfast and area for breakfast. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Looks like they did a lot of work to correct any past reviews.