Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Central Position

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Very central location, warm welcome from the owners.
Cons: Being vertically challenged the bathroom mirror was too high and the light over the mirror did not work. Was mentioned & think this will be remedied
Location: A busy market town there are lots to see & do in the area.
Warmly welcomed, our cases were carried upstairs for us and we were shown to our room. Comfortable king-sized bed, tea and coffee making supplies with fresh milk in the fridge and home made shortbread biscuits to munch. Brilliant choice for breakfast, something for every-one and whilst I didn't have it the Eggs Benedict looked lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

A very comfortable stay

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Wotif
Loved this hotel; great room, location, and friendly hospitality. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Lauren

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Service was amazing, owners were lovely, made to feel very welcome, rooms perfect and beds massive, everything had been thought of, little touches make the difference, would 100% recommend, would stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
A really comfortable stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A delightful place to stay.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Westwood House is delightful with many thoughtful extras to complement the excellent rooms and ensuites. The breakfast choices are well thought out and delicious. The owners are always helpful and make staying there a pleasure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Park Ridge, IL

Great hotel in Dorchester

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean rooms, coffee and tea in the rooms, good internet
Location: We only stayed overnight and then headed to Cornwall so can't say much about the area.
We only stayed one night here but found the rooms clean, comfortable and had several nice touches. The breakfast room was charming and the food was very good. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

breakfast served too late

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Be aware that cooked breakfast not served until 8.30 each day we were there, no exceptions! we had to leave at 8.15 each day for work and so had to make do with a bowl of cereal and some yoghurt. Had to buy cooked breakfast at Wetherspoons next door so it worked out expensive.(A toaster in the restaurant for residents to help themselves would have been appreciated!)
5 out of 5
by Colin from Appleby-in-Westmorland

Just great, we'll be back!

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Last leg of family holiday after Guernsey. Guest house was really great in terms of the welcome and service we recieved; the amazing great quality breakfast and the location (Close to museums/exhibitions, cinema, bars, resturants and Dorset coast). Only one minor issue is lack of parking HOWEVER there is a cheap car park (2 min walk) close by @ 4GBP/24 hours.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Taiwan

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The choice at breakfast was amazing, excellent quality and perfect quantity. My children liked their "hospitality cat".