Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Perfect for Royal Dornoch

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Good location for golf and stopping point for NC 500
Cons: Hotel could do with a refurb as whilst clean and tidy and little tired looking.
Location: Good for golf and beach
Good whiskey bar and food decent enough. Rooms probably in need of a refurb but clean enough and perfect location for golf, which is what virtually all of clientele were there for.. Bar shuts at 11, so no late night drinking!
3 out of 5
by Robyn

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Atmospheric old building and bar. Restaurant service fine but food choice poor. The room shower was dreadful and reception is difficult to locate. Good selection of single malts but some other drinks not available. Probably good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tunbridge wells, kent

historic town of dornoch

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: character, friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant and bar. Convenient.
Cons: A bit more choice on menu for those staying a few days.
Location: Wlak through golf course to beach, Cathedral opposite with stained glass windows is a MUST. Walks around town and visit to Dunrobin castle.
We had a delightful stay in the older part of the hotel on the first floor. The room was cosy, beds comfortable .A nice touch was a small decanter of sherry.We stayed 2 nights as part of our 500 mile trip. Ate both nights in the hotel food was good , in particular the cured salmon. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We even were invited to the Gin distillery which had just be started. Great selection of whiskies if that is your tipple. Breakfeast good and a nice sitting room for reading if the weather is inclement. We and great weather, lovely walk through gold course to beach and around the village itself.
4 out of 5
by Georgette

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
We had one night in the old castle which definitely needed refurbishment. It was overpriced! The bar was a rip off for drams too. Felt like they were preying on the tourists rather than catering to staycationers. Our golf was great.... though the staff were friendly enough, We won't stay at the hotel again when we next go up to play golf.
3 out of 5
by Robin

Not worth the price

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
The idea of staying in an old castle is certainly neat but if you are traveling solo save your money for a more worthy place like Ackergill Tower. The staff here was friendly for the most part but I was seated both for dinner and then breakfast the following morning at a small table in the center of the room - in the morning at the end of the buffet table - despite an abundance of empty tables. The staff in the restaurant insisted I sit there on both occasions which made me feel quite on display and uncomfortable. The first room I stayed in had hairs in the tub. I was switched to a nicer room which was great but still not the quality that I was hoping for with the price. There is not much to see or do in the area so stop by for a quick visit and photo then move on to a town with better accommodations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful and charming hotel and village
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel to stay in and this was my thi

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Lovely area to visit and Fort George was most interesting.
Room very comfortable and clean and loung bar basic but welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff Lora was very helpful .

Posted Sep 27, 2016
I couldn't walk good and they helped me with everything including putting jewelry on for a wedding thank you dornoch staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Fun being in a castle

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Location right in the center of town was great. Lots of things to see and nice shops all around.
Cons: As a couple, we sleep in the middle of the bed, together. With two beds stuck together, that doesn't work. Hate straddling the gap.
Location: We were shopping for a tam for our neighbor and found it at a woolens shop to the left from the hotel. Lots of nice shops in the area.
We enjoyed staying at the Dornoch Castle Hotel. The room was very nice -- great shower! Bed was a disappointment since it was two stuck together -- but for Europe it is a plague we put up with. Fortunately, more places going with double beds rather than trying to do queen beds which Europe just never produced. Anyway, the room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was lovely, in a large dinning room. I had kippers and Fred had full Scottish. Both tasty and well done. The bar at the hotel was exceptional with a great barkeeper who was expert at Whiskeys. Huge stone fireplace (original to the castle we think) and old castle archway into the dining room.