Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Very friendly hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Lovely B&B with friendly staff, great location close to the town centre and local restaurants. Room was very comfortable and plenty of choice for breakfast served at a big round table which created a friendly atmosphere amongst the guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Handy not to far to monkey world

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Enjoyed staying in the lodge
Very well looked after by proprieter.Nice breakfast and enjoyed sitting at the one table with the other guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean bright and friendly.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Inside the decor is as new and all is clean and bright!
Cons: The duvet covers were, I suspect, poly/cotton; but 100% cotton would be better, especially in summer.
Location: Walking distance to centre of town. Plenty of eateries. Comprehensive market on Weds. Walking distance (10 mins) to “Max Gate”; Thomas Hardy’s house.
The Bay Tree in Dorchester is excellent! Clean and bright with friendly and obliging proprietors. Breakfast is communal style at one large circular table; with wide-ranging menu inc fruit. Note that room No.1 does not have en-suite facilities; bathroom is short corridor walk away down three steps. There are three parking spaces but one is permanently occupied by the owner’s car. Otherwise you park on (quiet) road close by. You could go a long way and not find a better bed and breakfast than this!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely b & b run by really nice people

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Everything, there wasn't anything really to dislike
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: It is just under 2 kilometres from the town centre the way I walked. Quiet area. Lots to see & do
I arrived just after 8pm after a long journey by coach. I was welcomed by Garry who took me to my room and straight away brought me up tea and biscuits which was so appreciated. Breakfast was at a large round table which was very nice as I didn't have to sit on my own. Fruit, cereal, fruit juices, jams etc were all laid out on a lazy Susan in the centre so you could help yourself. There was also a choice of cooked breakfast which I must say was very good. I stayed here 2 nights and if I was in the area I would definitely stay here agaim
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Lovely house, perfect host very helpful

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Visiting Mum in hospital so location was great just 15 mins walk. Comfortable and lovely house, Gary was the perfect host, very helpful and friendly. Have already recommended to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Best BnB in England

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Great welcome. Very comfortable rooms. Modern decor. Superb breakfast. Will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walsall,UK.

Excellent value for money.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Very pleasant proprietors offering a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.Tastefully decorated with quality fittings. Superb breakfast.
Cons: One of the ceiling spotlights was not working and the chair supplied was okay to sit and write at a desk but certainly not to rest in.
Location: Convenient location for restaurants and pubs in particular.
Usually stay in Brand Corporate hotels but was pleasantly surprised to find Bay Tree House equalled and in some instances surpassed aforesaid accommodation.
4 out of 5
by Alan

Just right

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and efficient
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommend staying there

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lodges well kept secret! Charming couple.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The owners went out of their way to accommodate us.