Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Great hotel and staff were amazing, they were very friendly and always happy to help. Had a family room which was great for a family of 4. The room was a bit hot at night, but apart from that it was a fantastic family break and would go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Good location for exploring bournemouth

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: overhaul of the chalet rooms at back- reminded me of a bad pontins experience once!
Location: walking distance of town, seafront- bikes available to hire to explore lovely coast. great for dogs./
We stayed for two nights at the Royale, two adults and my 16 year old son. I was a little disappointed with the room as we were located at the back of the hotel in a ' pre fab' style chalet. It was very stuffy and needs an overhaul. no windows in bathroom and very loud as we had a stag party in the next room and they woke us in the early hours. beds ok, and ok for a very short stay but would of preferred a hotel room! parking charge could of been swallowed by hotel, and sky sports in the bar would of been good as it was very quiet in the evenings!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great hotel...very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Excellent location with warm and friendly staff. Recent renovation meant the rooms were in great condition.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Basic rooms

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The lobby and staff. Breakfast.
Cons: Just about everything else!
Stayed in a top floor 'comfort' room which was reasonably clean but very dated with misted double glazed windows which completely obscured what would otherwise have been a pleasant view. The bed was extremely old and uncomfortable and the walls thin. The shower pressure and temperature control was nothing short of pathetic and there was no hot water during the day. The public parts of the hotel are comparatively good as indeed are the staff but overall I would not dream of staying again as there are many other hotels to choose from!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Nice hotel close to beach and shops

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We came for a show, excellent tree lined location, enjoyed walk along sea front, staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and very well trained, room not too hot, really comfy bed, lovely quality bed linen and towels, good food, safe and secure car parking, we would definitely come back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hi Di Hi

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Would not go back there like a being on a set out of hi do hi Very out dated , my room was heated up by a Electric Oil heater one step up from Calor Gas
4 out of 5
by Jason

Central Perks

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Needed a one night stopover and Hotel Royale ticked all the boxes for location and budget. Small room but it was a single so was to be expected. Brilliant location and facilities looked good although I didn't use them.
4 out of 5
by Alan

Good value hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable overnight stay. Good breakfast, pleasant staff. Reasonable car parking charge. Rooms a little bit dated but warm on a cold evening and contained all required amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Stroud

Convenient Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Excellent service
Cons: Decor; particularly rooms.This is an old hotel which, I understand will be upgraded. It needs it, carpets are brown, furniture and cupboards similarly
Location: Central to restaurants,city centre, and beach/pier. Situated in a fairly quiet tree lined road . This is a primarily a business hotel - no frills.
Not a hitch, service and staff excellent but as I have attempted to say below (script terminated) it is a bit gloomy and utilitarian; rooms quite adequate but need freshening. What is it about the beds? This is the second hotel I have stayed in over the past two weeks and the beds are extremely soft - not good for people such as me with back problems. There are plenty of quality firm beds that can have a memory foam topping and thus serve a dual purpose. All the staff were central European or from Spain/Portugal. A good reason for allowing immigrants or workers from the EU. They are excellent with good English, long may they remain. Btitish are often surly or not user friendly with a poor service attitude. As a South African I am an expert with the latter!
4 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
An overnight stay in this mid range hotel was fine, did not use swimming pool, restaurant or bar but the staff, room, facilities and hotel were fine. I would return to stay in the future.