Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nice for short break

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: The decor is traditional but not old fashioned, and both rooms I stayed in were fresh and very clean.
Cons: The only downside for me was the exceptionally noisy floorboards /thin walls, which meant that I was wakened early every morning by the people above.
Location: Great location and very close to town centre and beach.
Decor very nice and room very clean. Staff were lovely and nothing too much trouble. Was staying for one week, and was initially in a very small double room. But staff were happy to upgrade me to a larger room as soon as one became available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Reasonable hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Hotel is tired and our room much too hot even though heating was off. We were above the kitchen and disturbed by the staff chatting before their shift started at 6am. Breakfast extortionate at £8 per person per meal even if only having toast. This needs revising... not everyone wants a full English breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Steven

Compact mid range chain hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Best Western are comfortable mid range hotels, the Montague is but my double room was tiny, enough room for 1 person but too small to share, you could only watch TV in bed and shower room was tiny, found a pair of pants left by the previous guest behind toilet door but other than that the room was clean and comfortable. The food looked and smelt good but I dinned out for my 1 nights stay, car parking was an issue as only room for around 15 or so cars, staff were kind and friendly, I would book again I would check the room size and behind bathroom door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly and low cost

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
There were a loud group of girls woke us at 5am Sunday. Staff were supportive and asked them to be quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
The twin room was really a single room with two beds in. There was no room at all around the beds, to the point that the chair couldn't go behind the desk, but the bed was close enough to use as a chair instead! Breakfast was nice and all the staff were friendly. It was very much what you'd expect from a budget priced resort hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and VFM

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel clean and staff very friendly, creaking floor boards and thin walls the main negatives - value for money with a comfortable bed and decent breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money but needs air conditioning

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
I would have given it a 5, if the room wasn't so hot and the beds weren't so soft. Slept with all windows open and was still too hot.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Surrey

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great location for the beach and the town.