Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Former too hotel fallen from grace

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Good swimming pool and good location,
Cons: Training of staff to as a priority and time to update rooms. Very poor and dated quality . Broken tiles, missing bedside lights .
Arrived to find room not fully cleaned . Floor not vacuumed with bits inc,during hair grips all over floor. On second day they provided us with clean towels but did not take old ones away. Only provided one face cloth for to people. Receiption very unhelpful when advised of issues. When I spoke to a member of bar staff who was not aware of the menj he advised it would have been helpful if the hotel had given him some training .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

far from beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: A beautiful building
Cons: smiling staff, room should be warm and well lit at night. A little more interesting breakfast, some choice for vegetarians, cheese etc.
Location: nothing nearby unless you walk or take cab to town centre or beach.
it was a cold afternoon, when we arrived, no heating, on request basic heater provided. lighting poor, two little bedside lamps, one standard floor light, no lamp on desk/dressing table, therefore no light on entering room or to see in dark wardrobe, shabby curtains, one torn. basic breakfast,noisy party in large lobby on day of arrival.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Hotel isn't a 4 star is a 3 star at best but I suppose due to the pool it raises it but service is terrible - hotel needs a paint there were grabby walls, cracking paint on the doors - don't provide bottle water in room, no safe in room, cracked sink, balcony wall was so high couldn't see view, wasn't cleaned up had a black cloth on the balcony and a can when we arrived also couldn't lock balcony asked but nothing done about it, room service, reception and house keeping never answer calls had to go down to reception to put room service order in and then got order wrong several times - very much penny pinching on everything not providing wash cloths, pen, safe, bottle water in rooms - breakfast also was poor - buffet no individual cereals or yoghurts would pile it all in a bowl, hardly refilled fruit, no cheese said if you want it need to order at the table - I don't recommend staying - last year stayed at 4 star in Eastbourne and was wonderful breakfast buffet and had everything that a 4 star should have
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, hotel very tired

Posted Jun 19, 2016
1st room had white dog hair all over the carpet, 2nd room stank of mould. All bathrooms very tired and old, bathroom radiators on high temp continually - unable to turn down which made bedroom very warm. Outside of Hotel looked lovely along with the foyer and ground floor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam, Netherlands

Charming hotel, filled with many reminders of old.

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent, very helpful. Hotel restaurant was a pleasant surprise (affordable, loads of old-fashioned charm...and great view of the sea)
Cons: Hotel needs extensive refurbishment. Furniture old/creeky. Walls need serious paint job.
Location: Nice sea-side town, excellent location.
Very pleasant staff were always willing to help, and provide excellent service. The hotel "grew" on me the longer I stayed. You could almost imagine what the hotel was like in the days of old.
5 out of 5
by Barry from Plymouth

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Just two days away on wife's birthday,very nice time.
4 out of 5
by Ade

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mrs. P V from bridport

clean and comfitible.

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
hotel clean but dated.redecorating at the moment.great staff,polite and very helpfull.
5 out of 5
by Ade

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Philip

book somewhere else

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointing. The room was not 4* with water damage. The room was too hot. Both swimming pools were closed when we arrived at 6pm. For the money we paid expecting much, much more. Do not ask for room 98##