Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West London

Lovely hotel overlooking the sea

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The comfort and staff
Cons: More choice of vegitarian options in restaurant.
Location: Location outstanding for views and peace and quiet, near the beach/ cliff top walks, plus just a short walk to the centre if you prefer more going on.
We were pleasantly surprised by the comfort and decor of this hotel for the deal we had. This included a room with a large balcony and breathtaking views of the sea. Without exception the staff are friendly and helpful. There are great views of the sea from the large restaurant/breakfast room. Breakfast includes copious amounts of tea and the hash browns were the best I have ever had. This hotel is short walk to the centre, but just far enough away to enjoy extreme peace and quiet which is what we went for. I wish we could have sat on our balcony with wine/tea as it cries out for this, but will have to book longer next time, where we could also try the spa and both indoor and outdoor pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Getting back to high standards of 1980s

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Terrific weekend stay. No complaints at all. Stayed here many times when it was a 5* hotel in the 70s and 80s. Management really getting it together. Happy, attentive staff - not untrained students out to earn some pocket money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Had A great veiw in our room, staff were always asking if we were Ok, this made us feel really welcomed, only thing I had to criticise was room service, you have about 3 different times saying when it was available and after calling reception we were left unsure if it was ordered or not, in the end we left it. Overal very good tho
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Happy stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Was happy with my recent stay over. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. Rooms could do with some improvements eg shower didn't work and no main light in bedroom. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Bathroom in our room

Posted Feb 10, 2017
It required modernisation very dirty and old, staff were great but English was very minimal. Friendly though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

The bed was disgusting.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
All the furniture in the room was old and had stains on it. The bed was covered in hair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel amazing views

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Amazing stay from beginning till end very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Very pleasant hotel easy to get too from the town

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness,friendly staff,good food,cost.
Cons: The only problem I had was the hairdryer did not work but I always take my own so was ok.
Location: Overlooks the seafront but in January with bad weather not so good.Only there for two days so no time to visit the area.
I stayed here for two nights. In Bournemouth for a family funeral. Check in was quick,staff very welcoming and informative. Had a nice single room,complimentary morning paper. All was very clean,slept very well.Breakfast included was lovely,staff attentive and friendly. Overall was very impressed for what I paid and would stay here again and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Hotel is well located to town about a 5 min walk. Hotel room was clean. Great see view 218 Was no buffet breakfast as hotel was quiet. Do was served for us. Not a issue. Breakfast was good had a few drinks in bar. But staff. There one minute. Gone the next. Generally. A good stay would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel is excellent but the whole occasion was spoilt by the incidents shown above.
Cons: I can't speak for other rooms within the hotel our room required brightening up and alternative options could be made for car parking
Location: Location is excellent overlooking the sea.
When we first arrived we were unaware of the additional £10.00 the hotel require to use there car park, in all the years and various hotels i've stayed at this was the first to charge parking rates. I agreed to pay the additional money to park overnight but later in evening we decided to drive into Bournemouth for a meal. Upon our return we were confronted with a totally full car park, it seems the hotel had a private function and had offered the guest the option of parking but not reserving space for it's hotel patrons. We spoke with the receptionist about the lack of space now available, she suggested we either A) park on the road and get a refund of the £10.00, however this would have involved us getting up to move the car before 9am the next morning or B) using a parking space available from one of the apartment lettings the hotel rents out (this is within the hotel complex) an option we decided to choose. It was to our complete amazement that the following morning when checking out we discovered a £100.00 PARKING FINE notice had been issued against our vehicle, obviously we spoke with the receptionist who had initially agreed that we could use that space and she emailed the person responsible for the ticket to get it removed, to date I have no idea if this has been cancelled. With regards to the room we slept in although it was extremely spacious it was definately in need of some brighter decoration and the bathroom certainly required a total refurbishment.