Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-on-Trenth

Good position.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: It was fairly quiet and pleasant. It was convenient for buses, but they don't run on Sunday's. Nice pool area.
Cons: Just needs updating a little.
Location: Good location, especially if you like to walk. A decent walk to Bournemouth town and Boscombe. Good bus service to Poole and Boscombe and beyond.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only bed and breakfast available at the hotel. Sister hotel, The Cottonwood, served food at lunchtime and evening. We had food there which was good and well presented. Ocean View was clean and tidy, decor a little dated. Very creaky floorboards in some rooms. Rooms very clean with t.v., wifi (free), it was hot weather so could have done with windows that opened more and a fan. Didn't ask for one, so could have been available if had asked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol united kingdom

very unpleased with hotel recommended by your col

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: hotel in very poor position to say the wife was disabled as explained to your collegue
Cons: a bar and a restaurant might help and a better position hotel
Location: location very poor long walk down to the beach deffinetly not recommended for disabled
very disappointed with hotel no bar or restaurant an would have none for 3 days especially during school holidays I was on the phone holding on there for nearly 2 hours only to be cut off and rang the next day was only on the phone for over 2 hours we were promised that when eventually given the transfer we would have to pay a further 20 pounds I then asked whether all would be the same I was told yes when we got there we were told room only they said they would ring you and for us to go up to our room 2 hours later they said they gave up and the breakfast would be given on the hotel and they would not recommend expedia at the marsham court ever again I'm really disgusted with the service you have provided and will never use expedia again and I feel strongly that we should be compensated and of course on the night no one I spoke to spoke English
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent value and lives up to its name

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast and deep swimming pool
Cons: Our bathroom really needed updating, but was nevertheless clean and functional. Some of the carpeting in the corridors was threadbare in places.
Location: Great location and views straight out to sea. hotwl is on cliff so beach is walk down zigzag slope. You can drive and park almost on the beach.
I cannot really fault this hotel, as long as you can put up with a few bits of threadbare carpet in the corridors, then it was excellent value for the price we paid, and we had wonderful weather as well. We had a nice welcome. All the staff, mainly foreign - what would the hotel industry do without them - were friendly and helpful. Our room was a typical standard twin room, all clean and fresh, but the bathroom was a bit dated, but all clean and functional. During the morning cleaning we managed a peep into the room opposite which looked to be a very nice family room with large bed, wonderful seaview and alcove to rest of accommodation. Breakfast was good, all self service, and hot stuff kept hot, particularly good sausages. The restaurant was light with large windows just high enough to miss the swimming pool and look across hotel gardens to the sea. All small tables were by the window giving couples the best view. And as far as I was concerned the crowning glory was the swimming pool because almost half of it was 7'6" deep. also it was Ina sunken area making it a real sun trap. I think this is the only time I have swum in a hotel swimming pool in England and been able to dry off sunbathing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to beach and town.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Hotel really nice but could do with some work on the creaky floorboards in every room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great Sea View - Comfortable Beds

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Comfort of bed and friendly staff
Cons: I think the hotel is going through a refurb as breakfast is served in their sister hotel next door and apart from the rooms there is nothing open.
Location: Good, quiet location and easy to get to and from when visiting outlying areas.
We booked a sea view room for a very,very good price and never having been to this particular hotel I did not know if the price would be reflected in the room we got, not so when we arrived to find we had been allocated a sea view with a balcony we were extremely pleased. The view was really good you could see from Old Harry to the Isle of Wight, shame it rained so much so we did not get to sit out but the room was very good never the less. We had a twin room and the beds were very comfortable for me. I have the Princess and the Peas syndrome and suffer with anything like a near firm mattress (I hate the memory foam beds at Premier Inn) so I was pleasantly surprised to get a good night's sleep without waking up with an aching back. The staff were friendly and very helpful so all in all a good stay so this is firmly on my list for future visits. Thanks and see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great sea view.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Hotel could do with redecorating but great staff including dining room, cleaners and receptionists.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good location. Friendly staff

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Bed was very small for a double and very hard ...We ended up sleeping on top of the duvet as we couldn't sleep as we found it too uncomfortable - hard. Shower didn't work very well. But all the room was clean .
4 out of 5
by Sheraz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Victoria

Would I go back....Probably not.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Nice area to be in, quiet but not too far to get into town. Very hard and uncomfortable bed! Disappointing to find they do not do dinner service and the breakfast was very basic. Cooked breakfast consisted of sausage, bacon, fried egg and beans. Almost like a child's portion. Could do with updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Lovely view

Posted Mar 5, 2017
5 minute taxi journey to the main town which only costed 6.2£. Most friendly staff also.