Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The locals made it ease to join in, We had a great laugh with them.
Location: Close to Weymouth and Portland Bill, also nice gardens over looking local beach, Durdle Door, and not to far from Lyme Regis
You have a beach within 5 min walk, You can walk to Weymouth through a lovely park or on the coastal path (takes about 30/40 mins). close to main buses to Weymouth and Portland Bill. It is off the main road so nice and quit. The locals made us feel very welcome. The food is lovely and plenty of it. We had a lovely 2 night stay and will be going back. x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans

Nice Hotel, very good staff.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: welcoming and informal.
Very happy with our stay. Recently refurbished family room. Lots of space for family of four. Great staff and good breakfast. Good value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Liars!!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Been called a lair I am discussted be careful when you need to cancel!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Old Castle Hotel, Hotel Management
Being called a lair, forces me to respond. This prospective guest booked one of our rooms through expedia on the morning that they wanted to stay. On finding out the particular room they booked wasn’t en suite, they rang my partner (also an owner that knows how the booking system works), she agreed to waver or policy on this occasion (our policy is you need to give us a weeks notice if you can’t make your booking, so we have a chance of letting the room out again.) And informed, said guest, to contact the site that they booked through to cancel the booking, as we are unable to do so unless you book direct through us, which we advise all the time. Said guest doesn’t believe we said this to her and therefore has called us lairs. As the booking was never canceled, and prevented us from letting the room out again, I took the decision to charge them for one night, not two night as was their booking. I apologies for this misunderstanding, and I am sure there are many people that can vouch we do inform our guest on how to cancel their booking and if you book through a website, then said website is in charge of your booking NOT US, and we have wavered most cancellations especially if we can book the rooms out again. The customer is always right, but in this instance I and my team will not take being called lairs, and I apologies for any misunderstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Easy parking and close to the event

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Spacious and warm, with good facilities. Nice shower. And a good base to explore Weymouth from.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Less a hotel and more a hostel. The room had an odd smell. The bed's and blankets were small. The bathroom is shared between with other rooms. Only thing good was the breakfast in the morning.
4 out of 5
by Richard

only 5 minutes to town centre, very convenient

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The room was spacious, the decor looked tired but the owners have only been there a year & they have already done a great job installing a spa bath & freshly decorated the bathroom & toilets & have done a good makeover job with the garden/outside area to sit in & relax. They know that their next task is to redecorate the bedrooms & get them into the 21st century. The breakfast was magnificent & so was the lunchtime carvery (roast turkey & vegies & roast potatoes). Very comfortable & brilliant place to stay & would recommend it to anyone. In spite of the bar & restaurant within the confines of the hotel, it wasn't too noisy at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely breakfast and staff

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were lovely and opened up kitchen for us. Room was mega basic, we stayed in the family room. Cold tap didn't work and shower was a drip but breakfast was excellent. Glad it was only for one night though as it was a bit loud due to other guests and I'm a light sleeper. Full of character though and value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Average hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good
Cons: The decorating as very outdated and needed
Location: Quiet residential area
Needs a full revamp as very outdated Staff helpful and friendly though 10 mins walk up and down hills to get to town/ harbour
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay alright

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at Old Castle Hotel was good . My room was a single room but could have done with some updating. Whilst I was there there was building work going on, it wasn't off putting as the workmen normally packed up by 6pm and didn't start until morning. The breakfast was excellent, main event for me there, I would go back just for this