Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loverly building & grounds, excellent parking.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Full of character and mostly pleasant staff.
Cons: Bathroom was functional, but needs a make over. Breakfast was served till 10am, but at 9.45, the staff wanted you gone, so as to make up for lunch!
Location: ..
Considering its location, 5 mins from the main hub of Swanage, it was very peaceful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restaurant could do with a bit of updated

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Lovely location with great views. Rooms comfortable. Restaurant looks old and not in a good way so could do with updating. Staff all seemed friendly.
3 out of 5
by Mrs M from Farnham surrey

Short break

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Fab stay, room fine although the bathroom is rather dated and the breakfast primitive but we enjoyed the l annexLouisa Lodge, staff very helpful, location very good. The breakfast needs improving L
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from London

Comfort and style.

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel in a beautiful old stately home. Rooms are very comfortable and I had a lovely seaview from mine. A large abd tasty breakfast is served in a spacious and sunny conservatory and you can relax with the papers in comfy and elegant lounge after. A hotel full of character and style.
3 out of 5
by John from Freshwater Bay

Unhappy of Freshwater Bay.

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom heater/towel rail did not work. Could not leave bathroom door open as air/con sucked all heated air away from both rooms.Bathroom too cold to use,very disappointing.Service in restaurant was good,as it should be for the price.On booking I was told that as it was my Birthday they would give us an upgrade, it`s a shame they did not.Very sad birthday present.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
3rd visit for the Swanage Blues festival- hotel is comfortable, staff are friendly, perfect town centre location, yet quiet with lovely gardens. I stayed in Louisa Lodge which is even quieter if lacking the atmosphere of the main building which is amazing.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A large hotel in Swanage town centre

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Great location and characterful building in attractive grounds.
Cons: Redecorate and refresh the menu featuring plenty of local produce.
Location: Located in the centre of Swanage on the beautiful Isle of Purbeck.
We booked this hotel because of its location and proximity to the railway station. It is a large Victorian building with decor in the public areas that looks like it hasn't changed since the 1960's. The rooms we had in the Louisa Lodge were ok but about the same standard as a Premier Inn. Breakfast was not as good as Premier Inn standard though. So much more could be made of this hotel. It needs a makeover and some attention to the menu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful old hotel in a beautiful town!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
This was our first visit to this hotel and I can safely say we we're both pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful old building and although some of the decor isn't that modern it's all kept nice and clean. The room was large, quiet and comfortable. Through out the hotel it's clean and staff are very helpful and polite. I would highly recommend this Hotel if you are visiting Swanage
4 out of 5
by Richard from Petersfield

Purbeck house

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly. Well situated and nice room. V quiet as November but always someone available to help. Evening meals very good. Excellent value.