Ratings based on 1,259 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Location Location

Posted May 24, 2017
Obviously once a grand place in its time but a dated tired Lady now however, anyone with an ounce of imagination and wonder would see it for what it was and realise why they are getting it for such a good rate now. I took advantage of that and went with my eyes open. I will be returning before some outside company comes in, refurbs and triples the price. Breakfast, something for everyone, good big breakfast room. Book early for good priced spa treatments. Location and Gardens very good. Car park is 100 yards. 200yrds to Pavilion where we saw Imelda May.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A very enjoyable Stay

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Not new but very well kept
Location: To busy to enjoy Bournmouth
Unfortunately first two nights were noisy from outside noise, as soon as we told staff were moved and enjoyed perfect quite for the rest of the stay. Hotel staff were very helpful & pleasant when ever we spoke to them
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel close to beach some quite rooms lot on road

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: room spa music in bar
Cons: nothing
Location: good location near beach and casino shops 500 yds down road bit of a hill
we had a good stay found the spa very good and had a quite room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice to be near etc,

Posted May 8, 2017
Nice hotel, staff friendly and helpful, food good, I think the hotel could do with decorating, Apart from that nice stay thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Great location, everything else disappointing.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff, Room cleanliness, Pool cleanliness.
The location is amazing as the beach is literally 1 minute away. Unfortunately thats were the positives stop. We found the staff uninterested/ borderline rude. The rooms that were given to us was literally impossible to find (as the receptionist described "go left to the first glass door, and then do down stairs through 2 glass doors. and then pass another glass door on the right before going left and then turning right......this is where I lost her..) It was 8 of us so we booked 4 rooms and had to carry all our luggages all the way to these rooms. I can't imagine any one with children who could do the same. What they don't tell you when booking is the pool and gym is an extra £4 per day and towels are another £1. The pool is prehistoric with dirt visible in the bottom. The changing room looked tired with a bit of rust on the metal pipes. Also parking is not included and it is an eye watering £20 per car per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lichfield

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and has it's own charm
Cons: Up date facilities, or at least the furnishings in bedrooms.
Location: If you Know what you want from Bournemouth chances are the hotel is next to it.
It has the best location in Bournemouth. Always a deal on the tariff so the price paid is about right. hotel ageing but generally not in bad condition, that's not to say it is not in need of modernisation. But the staff are its assets, always found them to be most helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Comfortable hotel close to all shops and attractio

Posted May 3, 2017
Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Close to all local shops and attrections.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

Lovely hotel with excellent position

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Comfortable lounges and bedroom enjoyed sitting in the sun in the gardens.
Cons: Service in restaurant poor and food was even worse .
Enjoyed our stay HOtel comfortable. Dining room looked inviting but the food was very poor with little or no service . Shame as this was disappointing g.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, with character and good facitlies

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: through Expedia
Location: Great location, stunning views.
Lovely rooms. great food and enjoyed the fact they provided entertainment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Hotel stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: The hotels general condition
Hotel just ok but very tied and in need of maintenance