Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort & room décor.
Cons: Breakfast included very small sausages & black pudding , tasty but felt would have liked bigger portion.
Tucked away in a small rural hamlet in the beautiful Dorset countryside. Good choice of food for evening meal & helpful, friendly staff, managed to find us a table even though we had not booked an evening meal. Room was beautifully furnished with an amazing on-suite including a huge bath with plenty of hot water. Only spent an overnight stay so not able to comment more although did manage a quick walk into the hills the evening we arrived. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Quite hotel in the country

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We have just spent two days here and it was lovely.The staff were lovely and the food was great we had room 7 the bed was so comfortable.If you want a quite place to stay this is great would certainly stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton England

Pleasure in Plush Dorset

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: A quintessential country inn set in typical English countryside. Great staff and excellent food.
Cons: No
Location: Set in beautiful Dorset countryside easy motoring distance to Dorchester, Hardy's Cottage, Lawrence of Arabia's House and Sculptures of the Lakes.
A friendly greeting on our arrival, five great nights returning in September
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Croydon

All OK until the WC flush!

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff
Cons: The owner is obviously aware of the plumbing problems in the annex rooms and should resolve these rather than expect guests to attempt a temporary fix
Location: Out in the Dorset countryside so own transport is a must. Cerne Abbas a few miles away and Jurassic coast within easy reach
The hotel is situated in a very nice part of the Dorset countryside. On arrival we were quickly shown to our room in the annex by a friendly efficient member of staff. The room was a reasonable size and had facilities one would normally expect, the wifi access was good (no mobile phone coverage in the village). The bath was huge with wooden steps being provided to get in and out! However, they obviously have had problems with the WC flush previously as a sign gave self-help details on how to deal with problems (expecting a paying guest to resolve a plumbing problem is not the correct approach). After one flush, the WC flush failed on us, couldn't be fixed and thereafter didn't work for our one night stay. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was enjoyable and there is a good wine list. Breakfast was good although buffet choice was a little limited.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We had a short stay but a comfortable one. The staff were efficient but friendly. The hotel had previously been very helpful and accommodating when we contacted them before our visit and were able to sort out exactly what we required. We were very satisfied with our stay.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
An absolute gem hidden in a tiny rural village. spacious room was SO comfortable (mattress, pillows). Great food (breakfast and dinner)
5 out of 5
by Richard

Absolute Gem

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic two night stay in a classy and cosy Inn, old world at it's best. Excellent beer , fine dining with good wine choice and an excellent breakfast. Friendly owners and staff, all in all and absolute gem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainsborough

Lives up to its rating

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Full of charm with open fires so would make a great location in winter.
Cons: See above
Location: A little isolated and you need a car and probably has good walks although we didn't have time to explore.
We chose this Inn partly because of the reviews of previous guests and it didn't fail to deliver. It is set in a small pretty village with numerous thatched properties but little else. Our room was a little quirky as it is set in the roof area and had a small square plunge type bath so if you wanted to have a soak it wasn't easy! However the Inn has real charm and no doubt the newer rooms in the adjacent block are more of what you might expect. Our evening meal was lovely and there was a pretty good choice and a decent wine list to chose from. The staff were very pleasant and helpful although one was very new and still learning the ropes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovel cosey hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Lovely hotel with big spacious rooms and comfortable beds. The best part was the huge bath! Staff were very friendly and i would definitely come back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Quiet Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Very Comfortable, quiet stay with good food and pleasant surroundings.