Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was fine
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor stay

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
very poor room dirty carpet all stained, no window just roof light unable to close blind room smelt damp
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
nice hotel, will back again , will recommend friends
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pub hotel in the countryside

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The beds
Cons: The showers & wifi.
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We had a triple room which was spacious & clean. The food for botht he evening meal & breakfast was good. The pub is quite big with a pool table & crazy golf which is great for families with young children, which we didn't have. The shower was in the bath which had no handles to help get in & out of. The water for the shower took a very long time to warm up & when it did it was only a trickle. As we only stayed for 1 night this was not a major problem, however, I would not have wanted to stay longer. The wifi was also not very good, which could be expected in the countryside, however, free wifi is part of the hotel advertisment so I would have expected it to be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey - UK

Charming Spacious Country Inn

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The location, the décor and the old rustic ambiance.
Cons: Use freshly cooked vegetables make and fry your own chips.
Location: Bovington Tank Museum and the rest of rural Dorset.
Lovely rooms and tasteful décor, lots of space in the rooms and in the pub, restaurant and car parks. For the stay and the accommodation we couldn't fault it at all. With regard to the evening meals the meat dishes were superb locally sourced and expertly done by a knowledgeable chef, unfortunately these delights were seriously let down by being accompanied by oven chips and frozen vegetables utterly bizarre given how much efforts had gone into the rest of the meal. Breakfast is freshly cooked and there are nice touches such as your room number being on an allocated table - I liked that.
4 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
It was a nice hotel with lovely staff, they were very friendly and helpful. When ever we had problems they always resolved it for us. Would definatly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice inn very close to picturesque lulworth cove

Posted May 2, 2016
Very friendly staff, lovely food and big portions, and big children's play area. There was some kind of function going on when we were there but as residents we had our own area and were certainly not overlooked as regards service. The food came out reasonably quickly. There was one issue with hot water supply but were suitably recompensed for this. I would definitely use this inn again and have no problem at all recommending it.
5 out of 5
by Angie from Plymouth

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay , great helpful staff and fabulous food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A night visiting family

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: In a quiet location in a lovely part of the country.
Cons: Turn off the automatic flush for the bar toilets overnight.
Location: Country walks and beautiful coast: Durdle Door, Lulworth etc, and lovely National Trust properties: Hardy's cottage, Lawrence of Arabia's home etc
We arranged to meet up with family visiting from Australia in the Countryman and were lucky to get a room for the night too. The pub menu was good and we enjoyed our meals, the bar is comfortable and not crowded (Easter Monday). We had a family room (all that was left), which was spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice fluffy towels in the bathroom. We were in room 5. Unfortunately every three minutes through the night we were disturbed by the sound of flushing water, presumably for the gents loos in the bar underneath us. There was also the loud sound of a pump at intervals but that was turned off at night. But we found it difficult to sleep with the water flushing from the wall behind our bed. I had to move to one of the single beds on the other side of the room and eventually got to sleep.