Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel Great staff

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Comfortable stay in nice hotel. The stand out was how professional and helpful the staff were. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the only thing was that the room was a bit noisy when people were moving around on the floor above. Breakfast is worth booking with the room or when checking in. Nice fresh buffet with staff providing tea and coffee regularly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

On east cliff. Buses stop outside hotel .

Posted Mar 24, 2017
I have been going to Cumberland for over 50 years, it was always nice, but over the years the changes have greatly improved it. Love where the bar is now situated, and the extra Resurant,the pool area is nicer now, our room was very clean and comfortable, I would certainly recommend it, and hope to return in the near future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A stylish hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The staff were great, the breakfast was good and the Ventana Grand Cafe was welcoming and served stylish food.
Cons: I don't know whether other bedrooms are similar but my single one, although functional, was dull.
Location: Well positioned on the sea front, not far from town centre.The Russell-Cotes Museum/Gallery is only a short walk away and well worth a visit
I spent a most enjoyable 3 night stay here, exploring Bournemouth and nearby Christchurch. There was plenty to see and do within walking distance but buses were good and plentiful when I wanted to go further
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

Nice sea view

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Hotel looking tired. Good sea view but windows were filthy. Bedside cabinets dusty. Very noisy from floorboards upstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

An Excellent Hotel Close to the Beach and Town

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: There isn't anything we didn't like about this hotel, it's just a lovely and relaxing place with very caring & attentive staff. Brilliant!!
Cons: Some of the rooms are going through renovations at the moment, when they are finished it will be just perfect.
Location: The location is sea front, ideally placed for a walk along the beach to the Pier, but also well placed for walking into town.
We loved our stay at The Cumberland; excellent staff, food and comfort. There is something for everyone to enjoy at The Cumberland, and look forward to returning tin the Summer with our Grandchildren. That is another thing with The Cumberland, it is very child friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant & spacious environment downstairs

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Enjoyed the evening in the stylish bar with sensible chill out music and good food, staff very good. However, in fairness, the room was a disaster. All the signs about being quiet and respectful to other guests are pointless. The room was right above the bar, so constant dull beats through the floor, ulta-thin walls meant that conversations and movements can be heard everywhere. Ignorant men in the room above shouting at each other, exchanging profanities. Floor boards creaked more than most hotels and room size sub-standard. Bathroom was fine though. I've stayed at most hotels in this area and if you want options,l and leisure facilities, then the Oceana group of hotels might work for you. However, if you're just seeking a good night's sleep in a decent size room with high ceilings and a decent shower, then I prefer the last two hotels on this strip - Cottonwood and Ocean View.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Good hotel for short breaks don't think I would use it for a long holiday due to its high tariff. Decor is a bit tired and needs attention. There were builders in doing room upgrades on one floor so lots of noise and materials around The staff were all very polite and helpful. Car parking OK bit tight as long as you get in early, if hotel full can use other hotels in group nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great location & staff

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The appearance of the Hotel reception, bars & restaurants was excellent. We had a large room, which was a little dated but very clean. Very big, comfortable beds with good pillows and bedding. The room felt cold when we arrived but we asked for a heater and it arrived 2 minutes later. Everything we needed in the room but no tea/coffee making facilities or water provided. Staff were all very professional and looked the part. Breakfast was amazing, buffet style but lovely as everything was hot and hot plates and refreshed continually. A lovely bar area but quite pricey, a great, comfortable place to sit and relax. I mentioned when booking that it was my boyfriends Birthday and a card was in the room when we arrived along with vouchers for 2 free glasses of prosecco which was very thoughtful. Great location, an easy walk to the beach, pier and town centre but out of the hustle and bustle. Easy, free parking and could use the 2 neighbouring hotels facilities which were part of the group. Would definitely return if visiting Bournemouth again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel overlooking the sea.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We had a 2 night anniversary break and we're made very welcome; simple bedroom overlooking sea( not hotels fault it was foggy on the day!) and a wonderful breafast and evening meal. Would like to go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Relaxing short break

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Choice of bath and shower.
Cons: Parking? Had to park in a sister hotel up the road.
Location: The beach, lots of lovely walks, restaurants. Lots of seasonal things for all the family to enjoy.
We had a lovely short stay at The Cumberland. The staff on the desk were extremely accommodating even when we asked for a few more milks and tea bags at 11.30pm!!!!!! The bath was a real luxury, not many hotels offer baths but we prefer them to showers and it was a real treat to have the choice. An excellent breakfast in the morning with loads of choice to suit all tastes. Thankyou for such a lovely short break.