Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great location & staff

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The appearance of the Hotel reception, bars & restaurants was excellent. We had a large room, which was a little dated but very clean. Very big, comfortable beds with good pillows and bedding. The room felt cold when we arrived but we asked for a heater and it arrived 2 minutes later. Everything we needed in the room but no tea/coffee making facilities or water provided. Staff were all very professional and looked the part. Breakfast was amazing, buffet style but lovely as everything was hot and hot plates and refreshed continually. A lovely bar area but quite pricey, a great, comfortable place to sit and relax. I mentioned when booking that it was my boyfriends Birthday and a card was in the room when we arrived along with vouchers for 2 free glasses of prosecco which was very thoughtful. Great location, an easy walk to the beach, pier and town centre but out of the hustle and bustle. Easy, free parking and could use the 2 neighbouring hotels facilities which were part of the group. Would definitely return if visiting Bournemouth again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel overlooking the sea.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We had a 2 night anniversary break and we're made very welcome; simple bedroom overlooking sea( not hotels fault it was foggy on the day!) and a wonderful breafast and evening meal. Would like to go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Relaxing short break

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Choice of bath and shower.
Cons: Parking? Had to park in a sister hotel up the road.
Location: The beach, lots of lovely walks, restaurants. Lots of seasonal things for all the family to enjoy.
We had a lovely short stay at The Cumberland. The staff on the desk were extremely accommodating even when we asked for a few more milks and tea bags at 11.30pm!!!!!! The bath was a real luxury, not many hotels offer baths but we prefer them to showers and it was a real treat to have the choice. An excellent breakfast in the morning with loads of choice to suit all tastes. Thankyou for such a lovely short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice hotel on sea front

Posted Nov 17, 2016
This hotel was conveniently situated. The room was comfortable and clean. The lounge and bar was pleasant and plenty of choice for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thoroughly enjoyed it here

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Loved the art deco style of the building and public rooms downstairs. Bedrooms were more 'normal' but clean and comfortable. Pleasant staff. Decent breakfast and overall good value for money.
Cons: Parking was a bit of a tight squeeze. WiFi worked OK in the evening but not in the morning.
Location: Great location on the cliff top. Sea views. 10 minutes walk into Bournemouth centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, 15 minutes walk to the BIC

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: We booked a night for a concert at the BIC. It was about 15 minutes walk so ideal and the bar was open after the concert so we were able to relax back at the hotel. Good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms
Cons: There was parking advertised but none available on arrival at any of the 3 linked hotels. We had to pay to park on the road outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a Good value hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Quite like the decor of the hotel just a little different to other hotels
Cons: Very slightly dated in places. I do like a comfortable chair to sit apart from bed and only had hard one😗 and car parking a bit tight!
Location: Ideal location, not far from town and a bit of a zig zag path to beach but still walkable !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and comfortable.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere in a good location . Sporting facilities. Food menus for all tastes. Helpful staff.
Cons: room,amenities and service were fine. Lounge area could do with better seating as the furniture was very uncomfortable.
Location: Great location for the beach and shops. Lovely gardens. Plenty of entertainment for all ages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Good hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Very good location short walk to Bournemouth or Boscombe (strenuous but enjoyable) good parking on site, the extra facilities next door
Cons: Room very basic but clean
Location: Lots to do in Bournemouth, small restaurants and lots of quality shops
Overall good, friendly pleasant staff, very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Lovely room with Sea view. Clean and good staff to help out