Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Basic cosy convenient

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Basic cosy convenient seaside resort near town and sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great hotel. Not much from the outside but was nice on the inside. A bit of a walk from the main pier but still a decent location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for West Cliff

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Hiring a better plumber
Location: I was there for a football match It was about a ten minute walk to the bus into town
The check in time was 2.30PM. As I didn't want to hang around for 3 hours, I left my case with the concierge. Returning at midnight, I was given the key to my room. This turned out to be a very small room with a single bed. Not in itself a problem, but when I got in, it was soaking wet. I then went down to the lobby where the night porter came up to confirm my story. He then went off to fetch some fresh bedding. The next morning, I was awakened by the sound of running water. This was coming from the light fitting in the ceiling. I got out of bed before it turned into a gush. It also transpired that in the night porter's haste, he seems to have bundled up one of my socks. The duty manager was apologetic, and offered my a free breakfast, which I had to decline as I needed to catch my train. I contacted a director of the hotel, and he offered me 50% off my room rate. I accepted this, as I couldn't be bothered to quibble over a further £25. I'm hoping to get my sock back as the other one is missing it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was very creaky. Strange noise all night long

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: I Asked to upgrade room was told I could not.
Location: Good
Hotel location is good, room was very small but was clean, a strange creaking noise, did advice hotel reception but they were not interested
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but tired in decor but great base .

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Compact room is very small for two people and quite noisy as front of hotel. But you get what you pay for and ok for 2 nights .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Dreadful Bath/Shower Facilities

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Nice quiet room.
Cons: Needs a new bath or Shower.
Location: Quite central, nice walks and near to a number of good restaurants.
Lovely quiet room at top of hotel, comfortable beds, nice fluffy towels but couldn't use bath as a pipe had been inserted into opening that normally gives pull-up option for bath or shower facility. Had to climb into bath in order to stand under an old shower head that did not have flexible shower head which for ladies like myself who don't want to get hair soaking wet, meant all I could do for the 3 nights was have a strip-wash each day! Swimming pool Very Small and as it is open to members from general public using it for Spa facilities it was very disappointing indeed as the reason I booked this particular hotel was in order to relax and enjoy the pool. Staff were very friendly and room was spotless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Posted Mar 5, 2017
We had a lovely weekend we will go again, very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Clean, good facilities and very professional staff. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by Mrs. C

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, but the furnishing is a bit dated. It was also cold a lot of the time. The staff were helpful and friendly. However, when I tried to order breakfast the price kept changing, as a result of this I ended up eating elsewhere. I also booked the hotel so that I could have spa treatments, but even though I tried to book the spa immediately after booking the hotel, I was told that it was full!
3 out of 5
by Harriet

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Was a very clean environment to stay in, the rooms are very small and the bathrooms are of a good size. The beds are very comfortable. However our hairdryer did not work And the shower was hard to use. The cleaner kept knocking on the door however we did not need to leave until 11, And the car park was so small we had to park a few roads away and lug everything around. Staff were friendly and made sure everything was understood, for the price of the room would have liked breakfast included instead of an extra charge.