Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemoith

Nice hotel but needs some updating

Posted Jul 12, 2017
I liked this hotel but we stayed there during a heat wave and only one small window opened and no airconditioning., just a fan which was totally inadequate. Also there were no shelves in the bathroom so had to leave our toiletries on the floor, not to easy to do for 80 year olds . This hotel charges &10 per night for parking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Awful glad to leave. Wouldn't stay again ..... Pool extremely small not really a pool. Leisure facilities very poor. Room very hot even with windows open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Clean and comfortable close to the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Clean comfortable and a welcome feel.
Cons: The position of the toilet roll holder in a very small en-suite was not good. No reserve on car parking spot so had to pay nightly.
Location: Great location central to beach and shops.
I stayed in a single room which was very small but every effort had been made to make it clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was amazing with ah large selection of full english continental and vegetarian selections to choose from. Decor and carpets dated but clean. Staff very helpful. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: A comfortable room with a 40" TV.
Cons: The lift was slow. The room was too hot due to the weather and no air conditioning. Would be ok in normal weather.
Location: Within 300 yards there is a convenience store, a fish & chip shop, and a good sports bar type pub. The seafront is not much further.
The receptionist on duty when we arrived was a young foreign lady. She said it was her first day on the job! She was fine though. I had stayed at the hotel several times, but more than 15 years ago. There were improvements in furnishings that I spotted. The restaurant is still as good as ever, and makes up for the lift seeming to stop at every floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good for a mid priced hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Stayed here with our two children the staff were really accommodating and Iovely. Hotel is comfortable rather than smart but has good food and a great location. Don't expect to park in the car park tho! Pool is v small but we found it empty first thing which was nice - not so nice in the afternoon when it was full of kids but it was half term so not surprising. All in all a nice experience - made really by the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Victorian Hotel close to the beach and garden

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: The temperature of the swimming pool was a bit too fresh for children
We had a lovely time at the Durley Dean hotel. The hotel is very quiet, the staff helpful and friendly. We enjoyed walking along the beach, and visiting the city, many activities walking distance from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Basic cosy convenient

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Basic cosy convenient seaside resort near town and sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great hotel. Not much from the outside but was nice on the inside. A bit of a walk from the main pier but still a decent location.
5 out of 5
by Emmanuel

Awesome

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing
4 out of 5
by catherine

Just right

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
I would be happy to stay at the Durley Dean hotel again my room was clean, the staff were friendly and approachable , location was good easy access to the beach and town.