Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Interesting old hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: A nice dining room with a good breakfast.
Cons: A more welcoming entry and front desk.
We just stayed one night here. It was some way out in the countryside outside of Dorchester. It is a pleasant rambling old building that could use some updating. The entry was not clearly marked and the front desk was surrounded by bags of clean linens that presumably had just been delivered. Our check in was fine and our room was clean and comfortable if a bit worn. There is no elevator and it was a bit of a warren of corridors making it challenging to get the bags up. There was no offer to carry them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean, but they fail at the basics!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Room was spacious, clean&tidy however the b&b is in the middle of nowhere&a total pain to get to. The closest competitor selling warm food is a 15 mins drive away down horribly tight single file county roads. Staff were friendly but clearly inexperienced& altho well under capacity we still managed to get a couple of elephants move in next door at 9pm which disturbed our sleep until gone 1am. Being an historic pub steeped in history we planned to eat there in the evening upon our return from Dorchester. However the food choice is limited&pretentious&far too complicated for the type of establishment it is. We asked if we could have the elebarate burger dumbed down (replace the veiny cheese with any other form of cheese!) &this was declined, so we ended up driving the 25 mins back into Dorchester to eat elsewhere. Utter madness when the staff were wandering about moaning how quiet they were. Wifi non existent, in room or most of the bar. We did find a thimble area of the bar where it worked but that was it. It was advertised as having wifi on the Expedia site, so a little disappointing when normal phone signal is non existent also. Concerning if anyone needed to get hold of you In an emergency. As I say clean&tidy& pretty spacious room with staff essentially polite. Basic stuff like a half decent menu would have got them additional business. Breakfast was ok,few choices for breakfast none of which included beans which we needed to ask for&no hash brown.Poached eggs v.undercooked
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Convenient pub stay

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The Fox Inn is a beautiful old building, peacefully located in the Dorset countryside. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king size room, but to be honest, I couldn't see much difference between that and the double rooms. Unfortunately there was a problem with our central heating in the room, so as we walked in it was freezing cold (we stayed in March) and therefore not very welcoming. After two requests and a couple of hours later the problem was fixed and we were able to enjoy the rest of our trip. Although the room was comfortable for us, I couldn't help notice that it could have been a bit cleaner. There were tea/coffee stains on the bedside cabinet and the inside of the bathroom door was dirty with what looked like spillage stains, but overall the room was clean and tidy. It would also have been nice to have some information available in the rooms, with the history of the Inn and the owners, wifi code etc. We had a very enjoyable evening meal in the restaurant, but were slightly disappointed with our breakfast. I ordered eggs benedict which were described on the menu as coming with 'hand carved thick ham', but when it arrived came with bacon. It wasn't mentioned by the lady serving us so I just tucked in, but I wasn't able to eat it anyway due to the overpowering taste of vinegar. Overall we did enjoy our stay, I just feel that with a bit of tweaking, our stay could have been 'lovely' rather than just 'ok'.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
A very relaxing and welcoming stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Nice hotel in beautiful country side

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Great place good food except the sausages with breakfast were awful!!!! Would stay again though, just wouldn't have the sausages!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset United Kingdom

Lovely pub in the middle of nowhere

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff...lovely food...very nice room...perfectly situated.
Cons: The reception on the TV or maybe it comes and goes with bad weather.
Location: It is a dog friendly pub so its a great location for walking for miles.
This was a weekend away with just me and my husband for my Birthday.When we arrived the pub looked lovely and it was situated in the countryside in the middle of nowhere.Inside it had a cosy bar area and a restaurant further a long...we were greeted straight away by friendly staff who explained about our stay and our room.Our room was very big with a big bed.All very clean and very pleasing..the shower was very nice..the only negative comment would be the reception on the TV was pretty poor but that could have been due to bad weather.We had lunch dinner and breakfast here and it was lovely.You can use their free wifi but if you want to send and receive text messages/calls there is no signal out here so I suggest using Whats App to contact anyone as you can do this through the wifi :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice place to stay, rooms were well decorated and the bed was perfect. I would most definitely stay here again if in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly service.

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Good food from their resturant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Foxy style and comfort

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was enormous., you could sink into the mattress, there was a fantastic view from the windows. The ephemera in the inn was interesting and fun, the food was excellent and there was plenty of it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel ever!

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing - will definitely go back