Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Interesting hotel in the countryside

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Singage to hotel from Melford St AndrewsDorcheter
Location: Local walks, Dorchester, aiden Castle, Lulworth Cove and Dorset
Good for seeing Dorset and Dorchester. Good straightforward food and helpful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Great for exploring rural Dorset

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Could not fault it.
Location: Very rural Dorset, but that is why we stayed there. Visited NT properties nearby.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Brilliant food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings

Excellent hosts and staff

Posted May 3, 2016
Location: The Inn is situated in a remote village and has wonderful walks close by.
A very warm welcome given to their two & four legged guests. All staff are very helpful and cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced, the Sunday carvery is a must. Would recommend The Fox Inn to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Lovely weekend break

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: As listed above
Cons: wifi in rooms, more tv channels and dvd player
Location: Walks from hotel, Sherbourne about half an hour away by car.
Weekend break with husband and dog. Lovely bright comfortable room on top floor. Very clean large king size bed and modern bathroom. Tasty breakfast. Welcoming staff. Walks directly from the hotel. Extremely dog friendly with garden at the back and dogs allowed in all areas apart from the restaurant. Varied menu including several vegetarian options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Village pub in the heart of the Dorset countryside

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The staff, who are very friendly and helpful. The relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: A small fridge would be handy in the room.
Location: Quiet countryside location. Lots of walks. Peaceful.
Have just returned after a wonderful 2-night stay at The Fox Inn, a village pub in the heart of the Dorset countryside. On arrival, check in was painlessly easy and quick; the staff, very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, if a little small, but adequate for our needs, with free coffee, tea and bottled water. The bathroom was clean, with complementary toiletries. The bar, restaurant and food were excellent and very good value for money. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Although we didn’t have any dogs with us, we could see that others with dogs were being very well looked after, but, if you’re not keen on dogs then the restaurant area is totally dog free. If we are in this area again, will definitely stay here.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Belgium

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
This was a business trip and I really enjoyed the quiet, very friendly, Pub/Hotel location of "The Fox Inn". Food and beer in the bar exceptional!!
5 out of 5
by Richard from Westcliff on sea

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing country hotel. Friendly welcome, great food and lovely country setting. Also very good price
5 out of 5
by Steven from solihull

valentine weekend at the Fox Inn

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the fox inn for a romantic valentines weekend.The staff were very welcoming and friendly.On arrival we had a couple of drinks in the cosy hotel bar and chatted with a few of the locals the whole experience was very informal and made us both feel very relaxed.We ate at the fox both nights. You can eat in the bar or more formally in the restaurant.we chose the restaurant for Valentine's night along with the valentine menu, and it was delicious.The bedroom was clean and tidy. Overall a great weekend.
5 out of 5
by Keith from Haxey

Quant old inn with plenty of history

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 days here was a real treat and both the staff and the food were outstanding. Bit out of the way but well worth it. Will visit again and recommend to anyone that wants a nice quite break.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels