Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No internet, terrible bed, over charged meal, dirt

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Very musty mouldy dirty room in an Attic w the worst cot. No internet in rooms despite description. Over cooked breakfast. Over charged for dinner. Dirty bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NSW, Australia

Charming thatched roof inn with lots of character

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: It's character and rustic charm
Cons: A warning about the number of stairs to be climbed to reach the room!
Location: Fairly close to Shaftesbury which is a charming old town.
We only stayed for one night, but found everything to be quite satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Good Experience

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Just right in all respects. Good quality, good staff, easy stay with no hassle, excellent set up for those using as a base.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: great parking, nice bar with friendly staff
Cons: see above !!!
I expected a little more for my money......very soft mattress, bathroom was tired, no milk in the rooms ( this was stated though ), could not connect to the "free" Wi-Fi and the Traditional English breakfast was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from catdiff

Excellent staff food and very peaceful place to st

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Staying for work do two days and was cared for Even allowed me to have my trout tea watching Wales on the excellent Nat TV
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Really pleasant friendly staff Everywhere clean Good choice for breakfast Comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beautiful area that we had not previously been aware of. Close to Shaftesbury.
We spent a night here while exploring the area. We stayed for an evening meal and breakfast. We enjoyed our stay, food was decent and bed comfortable. We had a back room and slept really well even though the inn is on a main road. There are steps or a hill up to the car park, which might prove difficult for some, similarly there are quite a few steps up to the rooms. But for most this wouldn't be a problem. The 16th century thatched pub is well-appointed with big tables and a fire. Tanglefoot and another Badger on draught. We would stay again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good cosy pub

Posted May 10, 2016
Comfortable room, very friendly staff and good food and drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Lovely place

Posted May 9, 2016
Very friendly welcome. The room was small, but perfectly comfortable and with character - right up under the thatched roof. Bathroom dated, but all clean and good. I liked the flask of fresh milk for drinks in the room. Food was mostly excellent - breakfast one day was lovely, but just OK on the second day - though the evening meals were great, and a lovely atmosphere. A really hard-working team, and excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Lovely B&B would definitely stay again.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Lovely quaint area, staff were so friendly and the rooms were fully equipped and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Really good breakfast but with a few small changes it could be a brilliant breakfast. ie no toast rack, toast already buttered.
Cons: Lacking a bit of maintenance and maybe a deep clean.
Right next to busy road. Needs a bit of a spruce up.