Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Very comfortable hotel excellent position.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great position. Room excellent, bathroom very modern. Buffet breakfast a bit hit and miss. Plenty of choice but items need to be replenished more often. Public areas excellent and one of the warmest swimming I've been in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic break

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly staff.
Cons: We were on third floor. Window in room 315 opened fully. Possible danger due to someone falling out.
Location: Execellent for town centre and beach
Lovely friendly hotel. We had a last minute one night romantic stay. The staff could not be anymore helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel. We didn't use pool area due to our short stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with character

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Nice place but some need for paint in places Rooms were comfortable and clean Restaurant not the best food was poor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than most.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Good location right in the heart of the town. Rooms better than most that we've stayed at in Bournemouth. Staff on the whole were helpful and polite.
Cons: Just read above.
Location: As above.
Check in quick and easy. Main lift has it's own time dimension ( so slow it had us in stiches every time we used it ). Room was clean and tidy but looked nowhere near as bright and colourful as on the web site. Cleaning staff did a 50/50 job ( new towels, bed remade and litter taken away, but bath not cleaned, no new bin bag and cups not washed ). Found that sitting down stairs was a bit hit and miss as most of the good seating was taken by non hotel residents having tea and cake parties. Also I know it's not unusual anymore but charging £14.00 a day to park your car, still annoys me. Had worse but could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Central to everything

Posted Nov 19, 2016
All Staff fantastic / reception, maintenance,chef and waiter/waitress. Room had plenty electrical plugs very important for computers and mobiles etc, broken mirror lights in bathroom but they repaired within 8 hours. Would have preferred bathroom ventilation not to have been on central timer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tadley, Hants

Great weekend break

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Had a great 2 night stay in this lovely old hotel with character. Room was great size and very clean. Great location and staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely to relax in after a long walk along the beach. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of wight

Fabulous

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Beautiful traditional style hotel but with all mod cons. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location in walking distance of town, BIC etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Lovely building in a good location. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Good sized room and bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead

Half term holiday

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Stayed for three days during October half term. Had a family room which was plenty big enough for 4 people. Very clean room with a large bathroom. Comfortable beds. Staff were very friendly and offered to tell us about places in Bournemouth to go and see. Pool complex was an added bonus. Pool area very clean and water was nice and warm. Breakfast was a huge choice, something for everyone. Couldn't fault this hotel. Location was excellent right in the centre of everything.
Cons: The room was a bit hot and I couldn't find a way to turn it down. But not really a negative as personal choice.
Location: Hotel right near main town centre for shopping. Caught the bus from the town to Poole and then to Swanage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Very good, ideally located right in the centre

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location is perfect, right in the centre of Bournemouth, spa facilities, nice staff, Molton Brown toiletries and biscuits with the free tea and coffee
Cons: Walls in my room were thin, I could hear the couple in the room next door showering and talking
Location: Easy walking distance from all main shopping area, BIC, seafront and buses to all around Bournemouth and Poole
Stayed in the Norfolk Royale several times over the last decade, I usually always stay here when in Bournemouth if I can as it's right in the centre, walking distance from all the shops, seafront and buses to all local areas. It's not a trendy modern hotel, so don't choose to stay here if you're looking for a boutique hotel. The Norfolk is a classic style old historical hotel, a favourite with the older generation who often come here to enjoy the popular afternoon tea served in the comfortable lobby lounge area. I booked a single room, but was given a really nice newly refurbished double bedroom, which had a mini bar and new decor to the other rooms I'd stayed in on previous visits. It was very nice indeed, Molton Brown toiletries, too. The only problem I had was that the walls were very thin, in the morning I could hear the women next door having a shower and talking to her husband even which wearing ear plugs! One reason why I choose to stay here is that I use the swimming pool in the morning, doesn't usually get very busy which is good. There is also a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi and a small gym. Only a few other hotels in the centre have leisure facilities and I've used a few others, but I still prefer the facilities here. The staff are always very friendly, too. I haven't had breakfast here for years as it wasn't included in room rate this time, but there are plenty of cheaper places to eat nearby. I will be back here again without a doubt.