Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was really good. Parking was really easy.
Cons: The Television and remotes could be updated or maintained better.
Location: Not far from the town centre or the beach.
The Hotel was ok but could do with a little updating. The lounge area chairs and settee could do with a good shampooing. They did look a little grubby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Nice hotel close to Bournemouth Pavilion

Posted May 14, 2017
It's an old building that needs updating. But it has parking and was clean. The breakfast was average but again the dining room old fashioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Tereza S, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: friendly staff
Enjoyable time in Dorset, hotel in the right position for travelling westwards and visiting old holiday places when a child.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Tereza S, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind words towards us. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Wessex Hotel - comfortable stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Room size, location, staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Outside could do with a lick of paint.
Location: Lovely Bournemouth beach Bournemouth shops and entertainment all within easy walking distance Poole nearby, with quay and even more shops
Yes, as other reviews mention, this hotel could do with a bit of updating, but having said that, it was comfortable, clean and the staff were friendly.Our bedroom was large, the bathroom was larger than our dining room and we had a walk-in wardrobe. The bed was firm (didn't dip in the middle like some more expensive hotels), the bedding and towels were clean. Breakfast was of a good variety and standard. Free parking and wi-fi was an additional bonus. The location is great, opposite a walk way to the 'zig-zag' down to the beach and within easy reach to all the facilities of Bournemouth town.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Tereza S, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are updating as much as we can and will get thee one day. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs refurbishing

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The helpful staff. Breakfast was also very good
Cons: In general the hotel needs to be refurbished. In particular, the plumbing is very old and the bathroom facilities were therefore not up to standard.
Location: The location is excellent
The hotel location is very good. But the hotel itself needs refurbishing. The plumbing is very old and still with separate taps (hot and cold). The staff however was very helpful, particularly the young lady in charge of the pool area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed stay. Close to beach.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Decoration needs an update. Creaking floor board. Towel rail loose furnishing looks worn. Cleanliness maintained. Bed was comfortable. Good tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast excellant. Staff were friendly .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Reasonable, nothing special

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location, Price.
Cons: Update the decor, allow temperature controlled rooms
Location: It's Bournemouth, a short walk from the town centre, so you have a beach and local shops and amenities not too far away.
I have stayed at the Wessex twice in the past 6 months, and both times have had no major problems. It feels like going back to the 1970's when entering the Hotel, this feeling remains when in the rooms where wear & tear is very noticeable on the carpets, as if the decor was indeed last done in the 70's. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The floorboards in the corridors are extremely squeaky and noisy, every footstep brought more squeaks, although I didn't notice this so much in the rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet - the 2nd time we stayed my room was upgraded to a much larger one although I don't believe I had requested this so that was a nice bonus. The rest of the clientele appear to all be in their 60's and 70's, which again lends an air of going back in time somewhat when entering or walking around the place. The heating was permanently on despite it being a very warm spring weekend, which led to both me and my wife feeling extremely hot and needing the windows open just to bring the room to a comfortable level. I imagine this heating is for the older guests, so we, in our 30's, did not need it so much. There is no air conditioning in the rooms to help bring the temperature down a little. Overall this is a reasonable hotel with no frills, but not bad for the price for a weekend away in Bournemouth.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good position

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: entrance hall, lounge and bar
Cons: Rooms for guests and decent menue
Location: lovely views when you get to the front which is quite close. buses good.
It would appear hotel is running down and is scheduled to be demolished. Rooms were just passible but lacked sufficient furniture and the bathroom needed a walk in shower. Meals lacked in variations and very disappointing, seemed to cater for 1 or 2 days stay and had we known would have preferred to eat out. I would not go there again We felt neglected in favour of a large group that was staying who had a better menue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Calm environment. Good sized-room and spotlessly clean
Cons: Fried eggs at breakfast could have been hotter! Otherwise, good choice on menu. Excellent waiting staff.
Location: All the usual things one can do in a large (clean) resort. Good transport links to New Forest and further afield
Good access to cliff-top walks and town centre facilities. Excellent car parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Bournemouth International Centre

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Hotel is tired Our bed was very soft and had a big dip in it Bathroom was good Breakfast was really nice plenty of choice and dining room is light and airy