Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great hotel full of charm and character!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel is in a great location in a quieter part of the city away from the crowds. There's a vaparetto stop right outside and lots excellent restaurants and bars nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Reception of Palazzo Stern, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you in another fantastic occasion here in your Venetian Home! We remain at your complete disposal for any further information or request you may need. Best Regards, The Staff of Palazzo Stern
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield , UK

A romantic,boutique hotel for a special occasion

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Location: Excellent location overlooking the Grand Canal. The water bus stop -Ca Rezzonico was right next door to the hotel , providing easy access
We chose this hotel for our Silver Wedding holiday and it didn't disappoint. Located right on the Grand Canal , it provided beautiful views from the hotel terrace where we had breakfast every morning and evening drinks. The hotel itself is an architectural delight, filled with interesting features and artifacts. A small boutique hotel with the ambiance of quiet reserve .The staff were friendly and attentive, which gave you the impression that you were the only ones there . We would recommend the Hotel Stern to couples looking for a romantic break in a beautiful city .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautifully converted palazzo in a superb location

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The location, and the imaginative high quality conversion of a small palazzo are its best features. Staff all helpful and welcoming. Good breakfast.
This hotel would be a jewel of a boutique hotel if it was in any location. But situated on the Grand Canal in Venice, immediately next to the Rezzonica ferry stop, in the relatively tourist free Santa Marta district, and a short walk from the tourist high spots of San Marco, it is near perfection. There are a number of excellent restaurants and bars mainly frequented by locals within a short walk, and Santa Margarita square with its lively late night bars is five minutes away. This hotel will be our first choice over any 5 star alternative in any future return visit to Venice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, Fl

Right on the canal

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Only got to stay one night, but wish it was more. Really cute room. Didn't know that they had a private hotel boat that you could reserve. A nice couple were leaving at the same time and let us join them back to the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent Hotel, Great Location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff. Excellent room. Hotel was quiet. Outside seating offers magnificent canal view. Breakfast buffet was expansive.
Cons: Not the hotel's fault: be sure to get on the #1 vaporetto line and go to the Ca'Rezzonico stop to get to the hotel. Don't rely on Google Maps.
Location: Excellent location. Things to do: Guggenheim Museum, St. Mark's Basillica, Doge's Palace, Accademia, Rialto Bridge. Venice is wonderful.
Located feet from the Ca'Rezzonico vaporetto station (Line 1). The room was spacious and had a great view. The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful in offering directions to museums and restaurants. Hotel was quiet; the walls are thick so you are unlikely to hear your neighbors. Breakfast is buffet-style with coffee provided to the table by a waiter. Generous breakfast hours. Good dining options nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
W enjoyed our stay very much. it was our second time and we will certainly stay again. We were made welcome on arrival and the hotel provided a launch to visit Murano,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location centrally located in Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel AND Right Next to Vaporetto

Posted Oct 22, 2016
This is an absolutely beautiful hotel located in a great area of Venice! Our room was right on the water and it was lovely. We were impressed by all of the carved wood, the blown glass light fixtures, and antique furniture. We did not want to stay in St. Mark's Square, as we did on our last visit, and were looking for another great location. This was it! We could walk anywhere and do everything from this location. And the staff was wonderful! They were extremely helpful with directions, suggestions, or anything we needed. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Grand building

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Grand design
Cons: Breakfast is rather dull, although service was good. Our room was good but the lighting was really poor.
Location: 20 mins walk from St Mark's Square, 10 mins walk from Accademia. So much to do in Venice!
The hotel is lovely but is farther away from St Mark's Square than we thought - allow at least 20 minutes for a fast walk. The hotel website says the hotel is immediately in front of the Vaperetto stop, which it is but this wasn't helpful as the Vaperetto stop was temporarily closed. This caused us a problem because we had to get off at Accademia, the next stop and we had no idea how to find the hotel. We had a map but this is kind of useless in Venice. As an aside, it's flooding season from October - March so take waterproof shoes, especially if rain is forecast We learned the hard way!