Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Cons: Distance from central dortmund
Very clean&comfortable rooms with friendly staff. Very helpful with directions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by ina.seuster@gchhotelgroup.com, Hotel Management
Dear Raphael, thank you for your kind responce. We are delighted, that you take your time to sent us your impression about your stay. When you stay in the next in the city, we will welcome you again. Sincerely Ina Seuster Resdient Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT BOOK

Posted Apr 13, 2016
I left as soon as I saw my room , I am awaiting a refund filthy disgusting hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Ina Seuster, Hotel Management
Dear Guest., thank you for taking time to send us the responce about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied, please apologize the discomfort during your stay. Kind regards Ina Seuster Resident Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
No customer service. The receptionist doesn't smile and there was a language barrier. The wrong size room was booked in error and very little attempt made to help. Cheap and tacky!!! That's my overall view of this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Ina Seuster, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to send us the responce about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied, please apologize the discomfort during your stay. Kind regards Ina Seuster Resident Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Over priced for what we got

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Awful pillows Awful bed Leaked windows and constant condensation
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Ina Seuster, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, thank you for your responce. We are sorry that you are dissatisfied. Please apologize the discomfort. With kind regards Ina Seuster
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Five star prices for two star hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is petty good.
Cons: A drastic refurbishment program.
Location: About a twenty minute train ride. Be careful trains only run every hour at 4 minutes past.
Not a great hotel. Booked to stay in Dortmund and had to do with this hotel through Expedia. Rooms are very dated, cracked tiles in the shower and no toilette's in the Bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Ina Seuster, Hotel Management
Dear Duane, thank you for your responce. We are sorry to hear that you dissatisfied. Please apologize the discomfort during your stay. Kind regards Ina Seuster Resident Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel dirty and under construction

Posted Feb 22, 2016
I was situated on a floor where most of the rooms still seemed to be under construction. I had to complain repeatedly to be moved into an actual finished floor and even then the standard of the room was extremely poor. There was no soap/shampoo provided in the room, 1 unbelievably sinky pillow for the bed and dirty floors. Hotel reception seemed to disappear at random intervals which led to me spending an additional 2 hours on arrival going back and forth to find someone to assist. Would not recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Ina Seuster, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to send us the responce about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied, please apologize the discomfort during your stay. Kind regards Ina Seuster Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Very reasonable hotel.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
I stayed 4 nights and found the staff friendly and all spoke english. The room was reasonable, plain and simple. Free wifi was a big plus for me. I would come again to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Tatty hotel in a run down area

Posted Dec 24, 2014
We booked the hotel a year in advance with a view to visiting the Dortmund Christmas market, we requested a non smoking room and specifically asked for double beds in the two rooms that we booked. On arrival we were given two single rooms with a worn out chair bed to turn them into twin rooms, the rooms were also smoking rooms that reeked of stale cigarettes. On complaining about the situation at reception we were told no other rooms were available and were offered free breakfast as compensation, the receptionist admitted it was the hotels fault but could do nothing to change the situation. I would not recommended this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Nicole Bendig, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, we are very sorry to hear about the circumstances you had during your stay with us. We are happy about every feedback from our guests to work on us all day, and meet the different people needs for the future. It was our fault, and we offered you the free breakfast, and you took it from us as a compensation. We hope you will give us a second chance, when you visit our beautiful city again. Best regards from the whole team of Days Inn Dortmund West. Nicole Bendig Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Hotel with constant church bells nearby

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Had to get my room changed not to clean hotel has no bar its a vending machine rooms very basic positive was the dinding room and breakfast was good
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear guest, first of all, thank you very much for taking time and doing this effort to give us a review with 3 star rating. We are happy about every Feedback from our guest - so we can constantly work on us to meet the different needs of the people. We apologize for the church nearby. We hope you will give us a second chance when you visit our beautiful city again. Best regards from the whole team of Days Inn Dortmund West.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Cost and location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
We were charged a far higher rate than other guests from uk.disapointed in expedia!! Also location.further out than xpected
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking time and doing this effort to give us a three star rating for our Days Inn Dortmund West. We are happy about every feedack that we get from our guests - so we can work constantly on our quality, and meet the different people needs. We want to apologize for the rate difference - but we do have different rates only coupled with different conditions. We hope you will give us the chance to welcome you again as our guest, when you visit our beautiful city again. Best regards from the whole team of Days Inn Dortmund West.