Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great+hotel+with+shuttle+to+the+front+gate+of+the+

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Clean%2C+helpful+and+friendly+staff%2C+great+free+breakfast%2C+convenient+and+quick+shuttle+to+the+park.+I+would+definitely+recommend+this+hotel%21
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It+was+a+good+experience.+Good+location%2C+good+staff%2C+good+room.%0D%0A
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Needs updating

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: refurbish and change breakfast operation
Location: across the street from king's dominion. No restaurants nearby. Had to drive to Ashland (6 miles) to find a restaurant.
Old hotel needs updating. Carpet frayed. Thin towels. Odd room layout. Slow noisy elevator. Poor breakfast- not stocked, dirty, no breakfast staff, breakfast chaos, poor selection, waffle machine broken, four staff stepped over spilled napkins on the floor and not one bent over to pick them up. One morning the front desk clerk has to also be the kitchen stall, ran out of numerous things, just terrible management!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisville

Disappointed

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Realize that a hotel next to an amusement park is going to have challenges, but this place has thrown in the towel, considering some of the better reviews I had read. Public areas were gross. Pool was green! Couldn't keep breakfast stocked. Not even the coffee. Employees working in jeans and tshirts just barely getting the job done. Two king beds in the room and proximity to Kings Dominion were the only redeeming qualities. Go somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Lori ( front desk manager), Hotel Management
I’ve received your review of La Quinta Richmond - Kings Dominion. Looks like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations. I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! Your feedback will help us improve our operation. Rest assured your comments will be shared with our team, and it’s through comments such as yours that we’re able to improve. Thanks again for your time, and hope we’ll see you back with us at La Quinta Inn and Suites once again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great location - GROSS pool & breakfast

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location can't be beat. Rooms were clean and spacious and the beds were comfy.
Cons: The support staff in charge of the breakfast room - they need a little more enthusiasm. Make sure the food on the breakfast bar is at least fresh.
Location: Directly across from the Kings Dominion exit gate.
The staff member who checked us in was very friendly. In fact, both times I had to speak with someone at the front desk, it was a good experience. However, the employees that were in charge of caring for the breakfast room were not on their game for either of the days that we stayed there. Day 1 - arrived in the breakfast room at 7am and they were still putting things out on the counters. The eggs were hard as a rock and appeared to have been left over from the previous day. The yogurt didn't even get stocked in the fridge until we were leaving the room at 7:45 (I would have certainly chosen that over those horrible eggs, had I been given the opportunity!) Day 2 was no better - we arrived at 7:00am and the eggs weren't even put out until close to 8am because they "had to cook", we were told. How long does it take to prepare powdered eggs? Add to that the fact that the pool was closed due to an algae problem, and I was utterly disappointed. I specifically sought out this hotel because swimming is a part of my daily workout plan, plus I wanted to save some money on breakfast. We were told they fired the maintenance guy, who was the only one who knew how to keep algae out of the pool. They should've had a plan in place when they fired him. Our room was spotless and the bed comfy, so no complaints there. But I will seriously think twice before booking this hotel for my next visit, even though the location is perfect for anyone who is visiting Kings Dominion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Mary Wells, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response. I will be sharing this with all departments. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we have opportunities. I do hope that in the future if you are needing a room you would please allow us to service you. Thanks again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free Beer

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: the free coffee
Cons: make sure the rooms are clean. My daughter who is only 14, walked right over to the beer, which looked like power drinks. could have drank them
Location: Need more food options, pretty far from food options. Unless you like burger king.
upon entering our room there was beer in the corner, food in fridge and the TV was on. went downstairs, where the front desk seemed more interested in getting the beer before someone else did. and got a new room. Roaches in elevators. Cleaning ladies were nice... as were the girls who set up breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and we are very sorry for this experience. We take pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. The Hotel Management Team will be working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dog Friendly

Posted May 25, 2017
Great place to stay with our pups and rooms are comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass

Nice hotel with a nasty pool

Posted May 8, 2017
Everything was great except pool conditions were not acceptable at all! Water was greenish and not clear, with a lot of nasty looking bubbles floating on top. Website shows a hot tub that is no longer there. They filled it in with cement. If you don't plan on using these amenities then it's not so bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

just ehh..

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The pool was gross, mold in the bathroom and mattresses need upgrading. If you can look past that, it's a cheap place to lay your head.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for you and other guests in the future. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay.