Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice short stay

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay. We were the only ones at the resort so it was really quiet except for the people who called into the bar after a round of golf. We were asked if we wanted dinner as we would be the only diners that patricular night, but we had other plans. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was average for this type of resort but I am not sure whether it was because they only had to cook for us. Our room was huge and clean. Our bed was comfortable and very quiet because of the lack of visitors at this time. This is not a new resort so the rooms are a little dated but pleasant enough. The outlook was amazing over the golf course to one side and the ocean to the other. Very enjoyable stay and the staff were very nice and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Peppers Carrington Resort! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Kind regards, Clorissa, Receptionist
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Really good over all. We recommend to other family suitable for the location. However there are a few disappointing facts. We tried to drink some hot drinks in our apartment, but the inside of the electric kettle was disgusting so we did not drink anything. We looked forward to having a hot spa, they say there is one on their homepage, but it was not heated. Sad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Kind regards, YClorissa, Receptionist
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

The staff were the STARS of this establishment...

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Lahera and Shaquille in the dinning room were so welcoming topped with superb service and delicious food. We ate in the dinning room each day.
Cons: Some areas outside the hotel needs some TLC. The golf course is impeccable but the building maintenance and gardens needs some minor TLC, easy fix.
Location: It is Winter so there were no activities except for golf.There is a beautiful winery but they were closed.
This a golfers dream. We were not golfers but enjoyed our stay. We had beautiful sunrise and sunsets. It is a place to relax and recharge....The room was the perfect size and the bed was just sooo comfortable. The local staff were so wonderful and made our stay a very pleasant one. The winery across the street is part of the hotel but they were closed during Winter. That would have been a nice place to eat and visit but staff were busy getting it ready for Spring. We explored and had a nice chat with Jamie who was trimming the grapes vines and he gave us a nice overview of the grapes which was very informative and we even learned how to trim the vines. Then Alan the wine maker was nice to spend some time and talk to us about the process of making the wines. It was fun for us to see the sincerity and passion that they have for what they do in their respective roles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoy your stay here. Our staff are always the most valuable asset to the resort, we totally believe good service will bring successful business. To Maintain the resort in a good standard is always our first priority. We will definitely pay more attention on this area and thanks so much for your kind advice. We are so pleased to inform you that the winery café will be reopen on 10th of October, hopefully you will come back and enjoy the stay in a different season. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks and have a lovely day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice and Quiet

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Peaceful, large room. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Lots could be improved if your vineyard was closed may be it should be on the web. Food available on arrival. Better selection on the menu.
Location: We had been at Peppers in Carrington before we knew there was not much to do but at least there was the vineyard. Golf.
Disappointing we were looking forward to come and have lunch at your vineyard but it was closed. We had to go back 1/2 of an hour drive to find a café. At Peppers we were offered food in our room. We had dinner at the hotel what we had was of ok. $45.00 for a kind of vegetarian meal, the lamb was good, crème brule not on the menu that night. In fact the menu was had not much to offer. Decided not to have breakfast there the next day. Went to a café instead. The waitress did not seem to know much about the menu and the wine. Although helpful she was going to go her bar to find a rose as it took a while we told her not to. All & All not a very nice Saturday night dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hamilton New Zealand

Great location

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: Everything, it was great that it was small and intimate; a good place to chill out.
Cons: Nothing
The lodge is smaller than I imagined but lovely. Rooms were big and we had a beautiful view from ours - would recommend rooms 4 or 5 for the best outlook. Beautiful dinner in the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect location particularly if you play golf.

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Wotif
The beds are vast and very comfortable, food is of a very high standard. Service in the restaurant at dinner needs to sharpen up a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely property on golf course

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Beautiful location
Cons: Staff could be a bit more in the ball
Location: Very secluded location, great if you are a golfer but not walking distance to the beach. The little bays at kerikeri and Maitai are fabulous.
Had the 3 bed villa, well furnished but spare equipment in the kitchen. Limited dinnerware and no serving ware at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

One night stay

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: The villa we booked was fantastic and we had amazing comfort sleeping in.
Cons: The receptionist could need an improvement in consumer relation. There should be some complimentary drink or food (breakfast) for the guests
Location: The location is really secluded and away from the suburbs. The nearest pizza place is about 2 hours drive. Be sure to bring your own foods and drinks!
I arrived to the resort with 4 other friends. We were travelling to Cape Reinga and needed a place to stay overnight. We arrived at the resort later than expected. However, we spoke to the staff in advance and confirmed that it was ok to arrived bit later than the usual check in time. Upon arriving to the resort, it was 7:30pm. We met with the receptionist. The receptionist was very arrogant and rude. He enquired as to why we want to spend one night at the resort when we are not interested in playing golf or taking advantage of the golf course. Why should that be a reason to book a room at the resort? He asked us what was our reason for picking the resort. We told him that it's the most convenient and comfy resort to stay for the night. The restuarant doesn't have any vegetarian menu for guests who are vegetarian which was unfortunate for me and my friends. We were lucky that we brought few foods with us to cook in the room we booked. Overall, the resort was nice and wished we had more time to explore but we were just stopping by and needed a place to stay the night. If we had more time, we would probably done more things. Just didn't like the arrogant receptionist and lack of availability of vegetarian menus. They said they can make vegetarian dinner but the price for foods was way too expensive than we thought. Overall, it's nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Lots of facilities and great restaurant
We loved it and will return. Unfortunately we had torrential rain and could not explore the area properly.